Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

HELP!!!...A noob going insane.....networking windows and linux...need a step-by-step

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP!!!...A noob going insane.....networking windows and linux...need a step-by-step

I'm losing my mind trying to get his working.
    Google has been no help.

I'm a newbie user.
    Trying to network Windows 2000 with SuSE 9.2.
    I basically know nothing about Linux. Just need to get file sharing working.
    Will only be using the Linux computer for running test game server setups.

I need a step-by-step to get file sharing working.

edit: The closest I got to anything working was following this tutorial but for some reason smbd doesn't start, no matter what I do.

Last edited by SitFlyer; 24 April 2005, 19:39.

busy at work, so i don't have time to launch into it.
    Basically Samba can be an insane thing to get working your first time round.

Just to get you up and running, it might be easier to download the ssh client from ssh.com - it also has a file transfer mode, and you can drag and drop in windows.
    Juu nin to iro

English doesn't borrow from other languages. It follows them down dark alleys, knocks them over, and goes through their pockets for loose grammar.

Comment

Dude, you really need to get on IM or X-fire or anything. Trying to troubleshoot via posts and PMs is really hard.

Post your /var/log/messages like I asked :P
      Gigabyte P35-DS3L with a Q6600, 2GB Kingston HyperX (after *3* bad pairs of Crucial Ballistix 1066), Galaxy 8800GT 512MB, SB X-Fi, some drives, and a Dell 2005fpw. Running WinXP.

Comment

huh?

I tried SuSe LiveCD and I had no problem accessing shares on Windows box on LAN.

Comment

Whats the betting on a re-install it would just work fine striaght away.
          Samba is beautiful thing that can just stop working for no reason and I've know it work just start working without any prompting.