Home Video record questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home Video record questions

I have a G400TV and want to record home videos from 8mm tape to CD. Currently, I just want to get all of the footage onto the CDs as archive. What is the best way to do this?

Should I capture in MJPEG then convert to MPEG-2 or some other way. I want Quality to be as high as possible, keeping in mind that the source is std. 8mm.

Also, I am looking for something that can automatically split the recording into seperate avi files when the scene changes. (MGI VideoWave I am using can find the scene changes, but does not split into seperate AVI's.)

On that note, I have both MGI Videowaave & Ulead Visual Studio. Which is better for this application & for future editting.

Thanks for any help, I am just getting started in this.

Hello,

If you are daring, you can utilize Huffyuv to capture the video. Then, use TMPGEnc to create VCD/SVCD files which can be put onto CD using something like Nero. That is a lot to take in, but do a search on this forum for more info.

Also, I just took a look at the Dazzle DVCII. Well, this is not a great product to do a lot of edits with. However, for copying video to SVCD/VCD/miniDVD with minor edits, it is hard to beat for the price.

Comment

Thanks for the response.

Is it worth recording in Huffyuv if the source is 8mm analog?

Also, is there any value to saving as VCD if I don't have a DVD palyer, or should I just save the MPEG2 files on the CDS.

PS - Where can I get Nero?

Comment

One more question:

What's different between the Dazzle you recommend and using the G400TV?

Thanks again.

Comment