Which camera?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which camera?

OK, complete newbie into the Digital Camera area.

I got a maximum of £350 (absolute max, prefer to be around £150 to £250) to hit on a new camera with. I have a good Dye Sub printer to play with anyway, so something that can take advantage of it won't be bad (so even if it's a bit more, do suggest it).

Anyone with any good recomendations?

I do have another £150-£250 (which can go on top of the camera) reserved for a new mobile too (that has a good camera and can do 30fps). So if anyone knows of a phone similiar to the Docomo Mitsubishi D901 (2Mpixel 30fps), or something similar that can do (a poor but reasonable job, ie 2-4MPixel 30fps) of the digital camera instead, do tell. The only requirement is, it must be operatable in the UK networks (3G probably, but that's not really a problem so long as it's UK network workable).

Just been asked on the other day (my birthday) what I wanted, so I'm making a list up. Other stuff like the K8WE board is on it.

J1NG

A first question would be: what would you use the camera for? Esp. as you are also considering a mobile as an alternative: usually, the quality of those cameras is relatively poor, and they lack quite a number of features (focus (!), exposure settings, zoom, ...)... On the other hand: one always has his phone with him.

I thought that LG and Samsung have the highest pixel count...

For cameras, I usually recommend this as a starting point: http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/compare.asp
    (the prices you can select are the prices at time of release, so take this criterion lightly)

Bear in mind that for your price, you also must have storage cards (it could be interesting to have some that you could share between camera and mobile) and batteries (most simple cameras work on AA or AAA batteries, but going the rechargable route is almost imperative).

Jörg
    pixar