Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• transparent file versioning system

Hello,

Does anyone here use a file versioning system for non-software development?

I was thinking of configuring CVS to track versions of TEX files (LaTeX text editing), and perhaps even office documents (don't know yet if this latter is possible). The main reason for doing this is to keep track of changes: even though I would use it as a single user, sometimes one needs to go back to a previous version...

But as I have no experience with CVS, I'm not sure whether one can configure it without support from the program used (tex-editor, office-application, ...). Are there perhaps easier options to configure?

Jörg
    pixar
    Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die tomorrow. (James Dean)

Just had a suggestions to use Subversion as the core versioning system. While it doesn't support office binaries (nor does CVS), this isn't such a big deal as TEX files are text-based...

Jörg
    pixar

Comment

What do you mean, support binaries?
      Gigabyte P35-DS3L with a Q6600, 2GB Kingston HyperX (after *3* bad pairs of Crucial Ballistix 1066), Galaxy 8800GT 512MB, SB X-Fi, some drives, and a Dell 2005fpw. Running WinXP.

Comment

office documents and similar programs

Jörg
        pixar

Comment

Okay, what do you mean "support?"

You can tell CVS that you're checking in a binary file, and it won't try to do things like diff it.
          Gigabyte P35-DS3L with a Q6600, 2GB Kingston HyperX (after *3* bad pairs of Crucial Ballistix 1066), Galaxy 8800GT 512MB, SB X-Fi, some drives, and a Dell 2005fpw. Running WinXP.

Comment

There was an article a few years about a binary diff program. It basically chose a byte value to use as a "new-line", and then used a standard diff algorithm to re-synchronize after a difference. I think it was in Dr. Dobbs Journal.

A quick google for "binary diff" turned up XDelta on SourceForge.