linux for newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• linux for newbie

i am going to try linux on an old, spare machine (486 with either ati or nvidia video card) and am looking for advice on which linux package to start with. i have zero linux experience but lots of time to learn. still, i would like something as automated as possible.

thanks in advance!
    P4b@2.7, AOpen ax4spe max II, 4X Parhelia 128 with Zalman zm80c and fan -or- ATI Radeon X800GTO, 1024mb.

Well all the newer easy to use ones really need a faster system, and are compiled for at least 586, some 686.

But old 486 flavours are still around if you look, truth is unless you have a specific job for the 486 I would think playing around with linux on a 486 is going to be a no fun situation..

Comment

ok, thanks. so, if i had a p4 2.4 would that make my options and original request realistic?
      P4b@2.7, AOpen ax4spe max II, 4X Parhelia 128 with Zalman zm80c and fan -or- ATI Radeon X800GTO, 1024mb.

Comment

Well my experience was following: I had 2 identical boxes (computer room): Duron 700MHz/256MB RAM, Ati Rage which were set to dualboot XP and RH8.

Compared to XP Redhat felt slower.

Comment

Re: linux for newbie

Originally posted by gangster
          i am going to try linux on an old, spare machine (486 with either ati or nvidia video card) and am looking for advice on which linux package to start with. i have zero linux experience but lots of time to learn. still, i would like something as automated as possible.
          Some linux distributions still offer a version compiled for i486; I have an older Mandrake for i486 lying around. But perhaps the folks in the Alternative lifestyles-forum might suggest one...

Bear in mind that for any userfriendlyness you'll need XWindows (graphical userinterface), and that it won't run very fast on a i486 (there are optimized windowmanagers though).

Jörg
          pixar