Rant Mode nVidia ... On

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rant Mode nVidia ... On

So I finally ... ***FINALLY*** ... get ride of my extremely old Kyro II video jobbie in favor of an nVidia 5200 which I got for the low low price of free. It's my first time using an nVidia display adapter, but I figure, "it can't be worse than my Kyro freak'n II can it?" Now I'm thinking, newer card, more features, faster gaming with more eye candy enabled ... this is a good thing, right?

Swap out the card, plug it all in, turn it all on ...

Let's just say I have been debating putting my Kyro II back in, because this nVidia 5200 looks like total ass on my Samsung 191T LCD display. I mean, we're talking ... haven't wiped your ass in three years ass. I think the only reason why I haven't put my Kyro II back in is because I want to play some DX 8/9 games that the K2 won't play at all. No matter the resolution. That and I'm hoping DVI will work and clear things up.

I borrowed a DVI cable to see if it would make a difference, but the cable I got is apparently a HT DVi cable, and not a standard DVI-D cable (missing 6 pins in the middle of the connector).

So my question is ... will switching to DVI make a big enough difference that I won't want to put my Kyro II back in? And I'm not kidding about the whole "looks like ass thing." My wife, who can't tell the difference between an $80 home theater and an $8000 home theater, even asked me why the display looks so bad lately.

It's bad. I'm really turned off to nVidia display products all of a sudden.

Jammrock
    “Inside every sane person there’s a madman struggling to get out”
    –The Light Fantastic, Terry Pratchett

If it's just got a crappy analog signal the DVI should look perfect. I bet it's just a low quality card, some vendors just make terrible hardware.

Comment