PDA

View Full Version : Help! PNY 6600gt woes



roadie
10th December 2004, 11:18
Hi there

I have just recieved and installed a pny 6600gt agp card into my system (see below). It seems great apart from the noise it produces and the fact that it crashes in every 3d application that I have after a couple of minutes giving either a bsod or just turning off the monitor.

I have installed it correctly with the latest whql drivers (i also tried the 67.03's from nzone) made sure the power lead is connected and everything is fine. The card does not seem to be getting too hot to the touch and my system does meet the minimum requirements for power (also the system ran previously with a 9800se flashed to pro). I am also running xp pro sp2 and have all the latest drivers for everything.

So where does the problem lie? Please can someone contribute with their knowledge. Also where in the nvidia drivers can I find the temperature reading. I have tried coolbits and riva tuner but cannot find it anywhere! Mad

thanks

System Specs:
AMD 64 2800 @ 1900mhz
Abit Kv8 pro
512mb twinmoss pc3200
pny 6600gt
soundblaster live 1024
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb hdd
Pioneer 10x DVD drive
Asus 52x CDRW drive
Aopen 300w power supply

Wombat
10th December 2004, 11:59
If the card doesn't seem to be getting too hot, then you may have a bad connection between the chips and the heatsink. The heatsink should feel hot.

ayoub_ibrahim
10th December 2004, 12:32
did you completely wipe all traces of the ati drivers before installing the card?

roadie
10th December 2004, 12:44
Actually the first thing I did when I got the card was replace the original thermal goop with as5. The heatsink gets warm under load, but not under 2d. I really need access to the temp monitoring utility to check temps, but for the life of me I can't get to it for some reason!

Googling reveals a few other people having the same problem so hopefully I can sort this out soon!

Wombat
10th December 2004, 13:07
Originally posted by roadie
Actually the first thing I did when I got the card was replace the original thermal goop with as5. And that was a mistake. Should always run a card for a while before you void your manufacturing warranty.

ayoub_ibrahim
10th December 2004, 15:09
just looking at your specs & wondering if you should really have a better wattage psu than the 300W one you presently have!

roadie
10th December 2004, 15:20
Ok update...

It crashes in the direct 3d tests in dxdiag.

I have booted with all devices removed from the system that I can and it still crashes in dxdiag. Although the psu only meets the minimum requirements I think it is pretty solid. According to the Abit monitoring software I get 5.1V on the 5V line, 3.4 on the 3.3V line, 5.15 on the 5VSB line and 3.37 on the 3Vdual line. I don't really have an in depth meaning of what this means but it coped with a 9800pro before so it should be ok.

I really am at a loss and it is pissing me off. Oh well, time for bed anyhoo. I will attack this again tomorrow!

ayoub_ibrahim
11th December 2004, 02:47
In dxdiag under video are all the accelerations enabled?
Have a look under display properties> settings> advanced> troubleshoot. Is the slider set to full?

Guru
11th December 2004, 04:42
Voltage monitoring software sucks! The first thing I thought of was the PSU

roadie
11th December 2004, 04:56
Well I have fixed it thank god!

I just didn't overclock the cpu even a smidgen and the card will run anything, yay

With the card at 550/100 and the 67.03 drivers I get the following 3dmark results:

01: 16353
03: 8067
05: 3269

Now all I need to do is to make the card quiet when not gaming and i'll be sorted. If I can't then I may get a 6800le to replace it. Does anyone have any experience of how loud the 6800 cards are compared to an artic cooler rev 3?

Thanks to all that helped:)

Kurt
12th December 2004, 07:34
Originally posted by roadie
Ok update...

It crashes in the direct 3d tests in dxdiag.

I have booted with all devices removed from the system that I can and it still crashes in dxdiag. Although the psu only meets the minimum requirements I think it is pretty solid. According to the Abit monitoring software I get 5.1V on the 5V line, 3.4 on the 3.3V line, 5.15 on the 5VSB line and 3.37 on the 3Vdual line. I don't really have an in depth meaning of what this means but it coped with a 9800pro before so it should be ok.

I really am at a loss and it is pissing me off. Oh well, time for bed anyhoo. I will attack this again tomorrow!

The psu is quite good but you should check the amps rating for the A64.

leech
12th December 2004, 13:18
I can say that my AGP eVGA 6800GT's fan isn't too loud. And after changing some fans around in my case, the only one I can really hear is the one on my cpu.

The PSU would have been the first thing I would have said is the problem as well. I have an Antec True550 in my system, and I can overclock my 6800 GT to ultra speeds with no problems, on stock cooling. I'm wondering why you can't get to your temperature monitor, that's kind of odd. Does it not list it in the driver control panel?

Leech

Edit: Didn't realize the 6600's don't need a power supply (at least the PCI Express ones). And also noticed from a screenshot that the heatsink doesn't cover the ram. Could that also be why your overclocking makes it puke?