PDA

View Full Version : Power DVD Superimposed Icons



Debbie
8th December 2004, 11:18
Has anybody got an idea how the Power DVD superimposed icons can be removed ?

Debbie

ayoub_ibrahim
8th December 2004, 12:23
One sure way is to uninstall PowerDVD! :D



And no I have no idea how the icons can be removed safely.

ayoub_ibrahim
8th December 2004, 12:24
btw is that power DVD 6 you're using?

Debbie
8th December 2004, 13:48
Yes. It's not bad. and it goes well with the MC Encoder. I had some problems with WinDVD

ayoub_ibrahim
8th December 2004, 13:55
Unlike the five version the six version seems to want Internet access according to my firewall. When I try denying access the program doesn't run. As far as I can see the main reason for wanting Internet access is to advertise in the configuration settings screen. I'm really upset about this!

Debbie
8th December 2004, 14:05
Never noticed problems of this sort . BTW what do you need a firewall for. It really slows down things.

Wombat
8th December 2004, 14:31
You wanted to run Windows 9x and you don't think you need a firewall? Haha.

Debbie
8th December 2004, 14:36
Have you ever heard of Norton Ghost ? I have a computer just for internet and 3 more to work on.

ayoub_ibrahim
9th December 2004, 06:21
just an update.
cyberlink has responded to my query & tbh I'm not reaaly happy with what they're saying:

Thank you for contacting CyberLink Online Support.

I understand your concern, but it is normal for the PowerDVD 6.0 to access Internet for updates from time to time. There is no option in PowerDVD to stop this.

Please feel free to contact us back for any further clarification in this issue or for any assistance in any issues related to your PowerDVD software.

Thank you and best regards,

Umfriend
9th December 2004, 06:39
So, uhm, without an internet connection, it does not work? If so, do the requirement to run the software include an internet connection?

ayoub_ibrahim
9th December 2004, 06:41
No, you don't have to have an Internet connection but you do have to allow the programme to access the Internet if you have a firewall.

Umfriend
9th December 2004, 06:45
Guess there's no way to tell a program (or have the OS tell the program) that there is no IntConn, right?

Debbie
9th December 2004, 10:02
ayoub_ibrahim,

Thanks for the info. My internet computer has practialy nothing on it, just what comes with Windows, Spybot and Symantec AntiVirus.

All my applications including PowerDVD are on my other 3 computers that have no network card and I do all my transfering via USB.

However I feel it is not fair that PowreDVD links with the internet wether you like it or not. Would you blame hackers, I ask.

Debbie

The PIT
9th December 2004, 13:02
I suppose you could edit the host file so it's just looks for the web site locally.