Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rainbow Runner G-series vs. ATI-TV Wonder???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rainbow Runner G-series vs. ATI-TV Wonder???

I'm building a custom PC: Intel PIII 1GHz, 384 RAM PC133, SB Live Value, Matrox G400 32MB (not MAX), etc. The last component needed is a TV tuner / video capture device.

I am only an amateur who just wants to learn image/ video editing as a hobby (so I won't go nuts in retirement). I don't need a professional device, such as a RT2000. Consequently, I figure the best choice is either a Rainbow Runner G-series or an ATI TV Wonder TV Tuner w/ Video Capture...preferring the Runner since I'm using a G400.

Can anyone provide some guidance on what and which card should be used??? Which card is better for my purposes?

One other issue. I am somewhat undecided about the OS--either Win 98 or Win Me. I think I prefer Win Me, but if I opt for a Runner, will I have a problem with drivers? Do any Runner drivers work with Win Me?

Some young techie's advice will be deeply appreciated by this old fossil. Thanks!

Hello,

To be short, go with the RR-G. I went through a similar situation and decided on the Matrox path. After a learning curve of several small projects, I really enjoy the flexibility.

The ATI TV-Wonder is limited to MPEG1 captures. It does have a TV tuner on it. This card is really meant to be used with another ATI card. If you go this way, check compatibility with G400.

The RRG has several advantages. If you are just starting off and have limited hardware, the MJPEG processor is a big plus (reduces CPU overhead). With appropriate tinkering, you can capture/process in a wide range of formats (read on this newsgroup for discussions on this topic). Also, it comes with Ulead MediaStudio.

Deciding between WinME and Win98 is not a huge issue. IMHO, stick with Win98. WinME can be a bit flaky with some software (Ex: MGI Videowave 3.5/4).

Well, I hope this little bit of info helps.