Coming to California in December

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coming to California in December

Well after a manic year at work, I told my boss that I am going to take the whole of December as leave. And I got away with it

Anyway, the now the question is what to do... I could easily use up a month doing stuff to the flat (painting etc) but to be quite honest would rather get away. So I reckon instead that a trip to California might be in order... I have a cousin doing an MBA at Stanford at the moment, so there's one visit, and a former close colleague of mine is now CFO of our US Solar business based in Camarillo, so there's another point of reference.

I've not been to California before, so would appreciate some advice - what to do, what to see etc. Also I think hiring a car and driving it all is the way to go - presumably I can just rock up to a motel wherever I end up each night?

No reason to restrict myself to California either - internal flights/longer drives not a problem (althouh I don't have a great "feeling" for the distances involved across the pond...). Where else should I consider given I'll have about 3 weeks (I want to spend Christmas back in Yorkshire)?

Also, should any MURCers fancy a beer I could probably control my random walk enough to buy you one

George
    DM says: Crunch with Matrox Users@ClimatePrediction.net

Obviously, a lot will depend on your interests. I like the hinterland behind the coastal strip, although the Sierra Nevada may have snow. I love the Mojave Desert and Death Valley is a must: the dates should be just right there in December! You'll also get the early citrus fruit then! Along the coastal strip, San Diego is the best large city IMHO.

If you're into art, the Norton Simon Museum of Art in Pasadena is a must-see http://www.nortonsimon.org/home_flash.asp

There are other national parks. The General Sherman tree is worth the visit, but the drive can be hairy in bad weather.