Question about wireless

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about wireless

I've got a friend who's family just got broadband and wants to be able to use it from all the PCs in the house. I suggested setting up a wireless network and they like the idea. I haven't done much research, but I figure I can do the following:

There's a single PC on one floor, which has the ADSL connection attached (currently through a USB modem). Replace the modem with an ethernet router/modem/AP.

On another floor are 2 or 3 PCs, which could be connected to an AP/hub/repeater. They're in separate rooms but actually quite close together, so hopefully ethernet cable shouldn't be a big problem (to be discussed, obviously).

There are also two laptops with built-in wireless. I assume they're 802.11g or at worst .11b, so as long as the wireless equipment is .11g there shouldn't be a compatibility problem.

I'm just posting because I have ZERO experience with wireless, and I want to check that the above makes sense, the equipment mentioned actually exists, and there isn't something else I haven't taken into account.

BTW, the broadband is AOL ADSL, but I have information which says it can be made to work with a router. Obviously I'll check this before anything gets ordered.

Thanks in advance
    Blah blah blah nick blah blah confusion, blah blah blah blah frog.

Re: Question about wireless

Originally posted by Ribbit
    BTW, the broadband is AOL ADSL, but I have information which says it can be made to work with a router.
    It can be but only with certain routers, AOL have a list of compatible ones on their site somewhere.

How is the wireless router going to be connected to the AP, via an ethernet cable or wirelessly. If it's wirelessly then you need a router that supports WDS.
    When you own your own business you only have to work half a day. You can do anything you want with the other twelve hours.

Comment