Windows Networking WTF?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Windows Networking WTF?

I have a SAMBA server (called Winchester) and we all connect to it here at work. It requires a route to get to it, and other than that it's pretty straightfoward.

One of the people in my group can connect to it, but any file copy SEEMS to take forever (a 300K file takes 2 minutes). Meanwhile, it takes 4 seconds for me.

I've noticed, though, that the file is finished copying awhile before windows explorer says so, because if i check the file in DOS, it will be completely there significantly before the file copy progress bar reaches 100%.

To diagnose the problem, I've tried about everything.

-Installed SP2 and windows updates

-Disable all software

-tried safe mode

-tried logging into his machine on my account (with the same results)

-checked all network configs (adding WINS servers certainly helped initial access times)

-checked route tables

I'm gonna throw a knoppix CD in there next and add the necessary route just to see if it's hardware related or not. But other than that, any ideas??

Network card have you tried another??

When you open my computer do all the drives show striaght away or does the miners lamp come on???

Have you checked the event viewer????
    Chief Lemon Buyer no more Linux sucks but not as much
    Weather nut and sad git.

My Weather Page

Comment

Maybe its as simple as a bad cable to his PC?
      Go Bunny GO!

Titan:
      MSI NEO2-FISR | Intel P4-3.0C | 1024MB Corsair TWINX1024 3200LLPT RAM | ATI AIW 9700 Pro | Dell P780 @ 1024x768x32 | Turtle Beach Santa Cruz | Sony DRU-500A DVD-R/-RW/+R/+RW | WDC 100GB [C:] | WDC 100GB [D:] | Logitech MX-700

Mini:
      Shuttle SB51G XPC | Intel P4 2.4Ghz | Matrox G400MAX | 512 MB Crucial DDR333 RAM | CD-RW/DVD-ROM | Seagate 80GB [C:] | Logitech Cordless Elite Duo

Server: