PDA

View Full Version : Windows XP Firewall



GT98
11th August 2004, 18:36
Just a curious question...is it really nessary to run the Windows XP Firewall if you have a router with a built in firewall ?

Elie
11th August 2004, 18:43
You can never be so safe even with a firewall/router.
The Windows Firewall offers that bit of extra protection especially if you are running an internal network with several PC's.

Regards,
Elie

Fred H
12th August 2004, 13:47
I switched off the XP firewall and using ZoneAlarm in my WLAN, no router here, yet. And I am satisfied with ZA.
But, I intend to go ADSL and just investigating about the best modem/router combination.
Highest in my list is the SpeedTouch 510v4, but it is another question.
One thing is sure: when you install the router you MUST disable all other firewalls, including the XPs, ZoneAlarm, Norton, everything. Otherwise you’ll run in trouble.
If you are using BitTorrent or other P2P to download (legal files of course :) ) the routers firewall is a problem. I think you must open ports, forward ports etc which can be tricky.
I must confess I am novice with routers, and I wonder if you can switch off the routers/modems firewall completely and use the software FW instead.
I wonder if by switching off the routers FW. The port forwarding could be easier to do? Am I wrong?
Any ideas, please?

Fred

Wombat
12th August 2004, 14:03
Originally posted by Fred H
One thing is sure: when you install the router you MUST disable all other firewalls, including the XPs, ZoneAlarm, Norton, everything. Otherwise you’ll run in trouble. This isn't true.


If you are using BitTorrent or other P2P to download (legal files of course :) ) the routers firewall is a problem. I think you must open ports, forward ports etc which can be tricky. I'm not sure about other P2P protocols, but BitTorrent is not NAT-Friendly, and that's why you must forward.


I must confess I am novice with routers, and I wonder if you can switch off the routers/modems firewall completely and use the software FW instead.
I wonder if by switching off the routers FW. The port forwarding could be easier to do? Am I wrong?
Any ideas, please?

You're talking about two different concepts. Firewalling is the act of restricting access to certain ports and protocols. Routers often implement NAT, a protocol that gives multiple local IPs the appearance of one IP to the outside world.

ayoub_ibrahim
12th August 2004, 14:43
I use ZA with a router without any problems.

Fred H
12th August 2004, 14:53
@Wombat,
thanks a lot for the explanation.
I am novice with routers, as I said, and I tried to tell about things I found on different forums.
My intention was to initiate a discution just to incrase my knowledges in this area, before I will go DSL.
I appreciate your explanation.


Regards,
Fred

Fred H
14th August 2004, 15:25
Quoted from Netgear Support 'Troubleshooting the DG834 Router'
You are running a software firewall on your computer. Disable it while accessing the router's configuration. Also you should realize that running a firewall in conjunction with a NETGEAR firewall may cause other problems. We recommend turning off software firewalls

Some right I've had anyway, that SW firewalls can cause trouble.
Don't blame me for it. :) I am still novice:)

Fred

Greebe
14th August 2004, 15:30
double firewalling is no problem if you know what you are doing

rylan
14th August 2004, 16:40
I've never liked the windows firewall (nor trusted it) so I don't use it. My cablemodem router built in firewall blocks everything anyway.

The PIT
15th August 2004, 02:46
Originally posted by Fred H
Some right I've had anyway, that SW firewalls can cause trouble.
Don't blame me for it. :) I am still novice:)

Fred

If I recall correctly and reading the pdf on the cd that came with my Netgear they trying to sell their own softwall firewall.

Softwall firewalls won't interfer with a router.

Fred H
15th August 2004, 06:59
Originally posted by The Pit
Netgear they trying to sell their own softwall firewall.
What's the name of Netgears SW Firewall?
I don't think so, because they say:


Quoted from Netgear Support 'Troubleshooting the DG834 Router'
We recommend turning off software firewalls which is not a text for marketing any SW FW. Just turn off, they say.

I will understand what I read, because I'll get my ADSL at the end of Nov. and I have no practical experience about ADSL, yet.
At the present I am running a wireless 1 Mbps LAN with no router just 2 PC, one is the server.
So, I have a lot to learn. Go on with new ideas. I'll appreciate anything usefull. :)

Edit: BTW, which model of Netgear do you have? I intend to buy Netgear, but didn't decide which one.
Fred

Technoid
15th August 2004, 13:18
whatever you get, stay away from the Netgear FR114P......

Elie
15th August 2004, 15:06
Well the best firewall money can buy these days is the Netscreen 5GT, it is a true firewall not only a router. It has four ports and you can setup untrust ad trust zones with Firewall rules as you please. All configurable through the browser.

I think it costs over $500.00 US and they are currently owned by Juniper.

Check it out at... http://www.juniper.net/products/jseries/5gt_adsl.html

Truly the best investment for security ever! I know I went on the course :D

Dr Mordrid
15th August 2004, 17:17
Only problem I have with my Linksys routers NAT is not being able to download files using ICQ, but then I've not really pursued it very hard.

Otherwise no problems.

Dr. Mordrid

Wombat
15th August 2004, 19:25
Originally posted by Dr Mordrid
Only problem I have with my Linksys routers NAT is not being able to download files using ICQ, but then I've not really pursued it very hard.

Otherwise no problems.

Dr. Mordrid In ICQs options you can tell it what port range to use, it doesn't have a default range. Have your router do port forwarding for the ports you give ICQ.

Fred H
16th August 2004, 04:07
@Technoid
NETGEAR DG 834 wired (not wireless) for Tele2 here in Sweden, what do you think?
They recommend SpeedTouch, they are selling SpeedTouch 510 Home, but I dont like it.
What do you think about SpeedTouch 510v4 vs. Netgear DG834?
You probably know them here:
http://www.inwarehouse.se/pb.aspcatid=1&src=14&sku=e686153

BitTorrent can be a point:)
Alt. I'd buy only a modem, no router, and continue with my home netvork with 2 PCs. But my wife doesnt like when one of the machines must be running when she starts her PC. :D

I'd appreciate your advice,
Fred