To complete my studio I need....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To complete my studio I need....

A set of speakers and two LCD based monitors.

I am a video editor and I got everything except for a good set of speakers, I need something that produces good quality sound with a remote control.

I did have a receiver, but I use it now for my home entertainment, so I now need only powered speakers for my editing suite.

And of course 2 15 inch LCD's would be nice as well.

Any recommendations?

Thanks,
    Elie

Personally, I'd look into 17" LCDs.

Check out Samsung 710T.
    Also www.monitorsdirect.com has a nice monitor selector (they don't ship outside USA, but their selector is nice).

Also if you speak german, check prad.de for LCD reviews.

As for speakers, generally you'd be better of with a pair of bookshelf speakers and a receiver than a pair of "computer" or "multimedia" speakers.

Otherwise, check out Altec Lansing and Logitech.

Comment

I have to go with Utwig on the speaker recommendation. You can get a very decent stereo (not surround) receiver quite cheap these days, and a good pair of bookshelf speakers would kill any powered PC speakers.

I recommend PSB Alpha speakers, since the sound quality is great considering the very low price. You could probably pick up the speakers and receiver for less than a high end PC speaker set from Klipsh.
      Lady, people aren't chocolates. Do you know what they are mostly? Bastards. Bastard coated bastards with bastard filling. But I don't find them half as annoying as I find naive, bubble-headed optimists who walk around vomiting sunshine. -- Dr. Perry Cox

Comment

Thanks guys, I was leanign towards your recommendation since I had a receiver in my office before I moved to a new house.

Thanks,
        Elie

Comment

for additional wow factor, i think u can look into the more expensive but very beautiful LG 1720B LCD