PDA

View Full Version : HELP: Running Sega Dreamcast Emulator



WyWyWyWy
16th June 2004, 16:39
Hi all,

As many of you into emulation would know, this week is indeed a big week because everyone's long awaited Dreamcast emulator is release!!

However, I can't get it to work :(
To people who tried it (or interested in trying), can you let me know whether you can run it on Parhelia?

http://www.chanka.org

It seems like it is a driver problem, but then it seems not...



Okay, over the last five hours I've been trying to get this to work, but no joy.
I have got:

- ChanKast 0.2a
- ChanKast Utilities 0.2a
- SF3ts.nrg (Street Fighter III 3rd Strike, also on CD as well)
- all BIOS's
- VMS

Basically everytime I try to run the game, it would crash ("chankast.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience") AFTER showing the logo.

System spec:
P4 1.8
512mb ram, plenty of page memory left
Over 2gig harddrive space left
Matrox Parhelia-512 128mb

I am pretty sure it is not a gfx card driver problem, because I tried to use 3D Analyzer and disabled everything (rendering, texture, HW T&L, lighting, etc) and it still crashed.
But then other people having similar problems are usually down to the driver. But why I can get into the BIOS screen then?

Not applications are running. All unnecessary services disabled.
Also tried v0.1, same result.


Many thanks!

TransformX
17th June 2004, 02:18
Why not get a real dreamcast on ebay ?

The PIT
17th June 2004, 03:24
Probably why it's an Alpha release.

WyWyWyWy
17th June 2004, 03:25
I do have one...
But that's not the point.

Why use a SNES emulator when you can buy one on eBay?
Why use a N64 emulator when you can buy one on eBay?
Why use a VMware when you can install the OS on another partition?
Why use a DVD when you can use multiple CDs?

That's why :P

WyWyWyWy
17th June 2004, 03:28
Originally posted by The PIT
Probably why it's an Alpha release.

I just (pretty much) confirmed it is a Parhelia driver issue.
And I placed an order on Sapphire 9600 Pro + 9000 PCI just now.

Quite disappointed by Matrox really.

Every other card works.
Even TNT2, Intel onboard graphics, S3, etc work (some with SW T&L from 3D Analyzer)... except anything Matrox :(

The PIT
17th June 2004, 03:30
Since it's an Alpha release have you reported it back to them. They may fix it later which would have saved you some dosh.

WyWyWyWy
17th June 2004, 04:11
Hi,

I have reported already.
To be honest I don't understand why it won't work, even with emulations from 3d Analyzer.

But still, I gotta replace the Parhelia anyway.
Things like Linux support, FreeBSD support, DX9, "second monitor not coming back after idle turning off monitor", speed, heat, no overlay on second monitor, or the future of Matrox, really make me feel uncomfortable.

You see I am a long supporter of Matrox, but I guess it is time to move on (to the very dark side).

SAYING THAT!!! Can someone with a Parhelia please confirm it does not work properly? I can send all the necessary files.

Many thanks.

High_Jumbllama
17th June 2004, 11:33
Originally posted by WyWyWyWy
I just (pretty much) confirmed it is a Parhelia driver issue.
And I placed an order on Sapphire 9600 Pro + 9000 PCI just now.

Quite disappointed by Matrox really.

Every other card works.
Even TNT2, Intel onboard graphics, S3, etc work (some with SW T&L from 3D Analyzer)... except anything Matrox :(

Disappointed by Matrox? :confused:

An alpha program does not work and it is Matrox's fault? :confused:

WyWyWyWy
17th June 2004, 12:36
Originally posted by High_Jumbllama
Disappointed by Matrox? :confused:

An alpha program does not work and it is Matrox's fault? :confused:

Hi,

Sorry I confused you.
The comment is related to this line:


Things like Linux support, FreeBSD support, DX9, "second monitor not coming back after idle turning off monitor", speed, heat, no overlay on second monitor, or the future of Matrox, really make me feel uncomfortable.