Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Upgraded, but still dropping frames for some reason...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgraded, but still dropping frames for some reason...

Well, since I last posted, I have upgraded my system by dropping in a cubx and a Celeron 433 (oc'd to 488), and I am still dropping frames in VirtualDub. I am capturing off an RRG in YUY2 with HuffYUV in CIF resolution. My capture drive is a UW Seagate on an Adaptec 2940UW, which specs at 7.99 mb/s.

I don't understand. I have the bandwidth on the drive, I have a processor that I don't believe is underpowered for the codec (esp since the processor load never exceeds 40%). What could possible be causing it to drop frames. Per 15 minute clip I drop 30 frames. Why?

Could an upgrade of the VideoTools help? I am running 1.52 with 5.52 video driver. Thanks for any help.

Gunnar
    I am a desktop video rookie with no money.

Just an observation or two.

The UW SCSI's throughput it marginal. Half frame HuffYUV requires at least 5-6 mb/s and any kind of unusual frame (bright flashs etc.) could very well drive it higher for a frame or so. This is why most of us doing such things believe in throughput overkill: that is having 1.5-3 times the capacity you theoretically need for a given set data rate.

Also I noted you're overclocking your system. 'tis a no-no with Matrox cards in my experience.

Also that CPU is still a bit marginal. You could put a 600mhz CeleronII in there very cheaply and get very close to PIII performance, which would help a lot.

Suggestion: other than the CPU note above I'd bag that SCSI setup for a nice, fast 7,200 rpm Maxtor DiamondMax Plus ATA100 drive. Even on an ATA33/66 controller those things scream and they're quite cheap.