Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone using Vonage or any other VoIP service?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone using Vonage or any other VoIP service?

My uncle found it on the web and thought the $15/month and 2¢/min rate to France sounded tempting.

I was just wondering if anyone had any experiences with that type of service (he'd be connecting via cable.) I don't think I'd go with it since it'd be our only phone, but since he's also got a cellphone absolute reliability isn't quite as important.

A good forum for this is http://www.dslreports.com/forum/voip

Comment

Had already looked there, wanted to get a "closer to home" opinion.

Comment

I have been using VoIP for aboot 9 months or so. I've got Time Warner cable modem, with Earthlink ISP. Originally I used Earthlink's Unlimited Voice service, which later became a relabeled Vonage service. The first VoIP box I got was a Cisco ATA-866 ... or something of the like.

At first the service did not work well. Kept getting dropped calls, break-up communication, etc. I fixed this by enableing QoS on my Linksys router so the VoIP box would have Highest priority on the network. Zero problems.

Then the port blew up.

Earthlin sent me a replacement box from Motorola, who runs Vonage. The Motorola box sucked big hairy donkey balls. No QoS, so it did not take priority on the network. I had to forward like 5 sets of port ranges to it to get it working. And so if I needed to reset my router for any reason, which I do since I tinker with crap a lot, the IP would change and I would have to go back and change the forwarded ports to the new IP. Didn't like it.

Then I heard about Packet8.net