DVD burning/compatibility

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DVD burning/compatibility

I have made several -R DVDs over the past month and gave them to several people with a variety of DVD players. They seem to work on most players okay, but once in a while they will pixilate(?) and then play fine after restarting. I'm using imation 4.7 -R media (100 for $89).

My questions are
    1. Does the rated speed on the media itself affect its viewing?
    2. Does data rate or audio rate (or type, such as AC3) affect the ability to play all the way through without a hitch?
    3. Is my Lite-on burner inferior and possibly the source of these glitches (bought it for $79 at Best Buy)?
    4. Does a complex menu with music cause problems (using MF3).

I'm pretty new to this, so any kind of advice would be appreciated. This forum has helped me a lot, by the way.

Jon

Pixelation is often caused by suboptimal burning of the dvd. I read regularly that burning at 2x or even at 1x helps a lot - or using high quality media like Verbatim DataLifePlus.

Data rate and type (ac3, dts) is standardised and should not be a problem.

AFAIK Lite-on makes pretty decent burners, so I wouldn't expect problems here - just always update your firmware.

Never heared that complex menus (what do you mean with 'complex' - the menu consists always of images and videos, or am I wrong?) make any problems.

Hope this helps you a bit, cheers Hannes

Comment

Hannes,
      Thanks for the reply. I'll try burning slower and get some higher quality media when my imations run out.
      I guess I wanted to be sure that the data rate didn't matter. I've burned mpegs with kbps rate ranging from 5000 to 8000 using both constant and variable rates.
      Jon

Comment