KT 7 RAID, IBM GXPs + RT2000

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• KT 7 RAID, IBM GXPs + RT2000

I have been working on my system for three weeks now and nothing seems to be fine-tuned yet.
    My rt2000 crashes with sblive! (but this is not the issue) and my 2 ibm 30g GXPs (same as yours EQuito) show decent figures on hdtach but also a ridiculous cpu usage (72%)

My guess:
    I figured I didn't enable DMA (wasn't it already set by default though)coz:

1) same benchmark on my IDE 1 IBM w/out dma >> low figures and huge cpu usage
    2) RT2000 disk benchmark >> ide 1 passes w/dma enabled
    ide 3 and 4 don't pass although they show highest data tranfers (lowest can reach 0,700 mbyte)
    3) hd tach graph shows very unstable performances

So my question is:

how can I enable DMA on my ide3 and 4?
    or where's the problem?

I am just a newbie on this forum and this message was already posted on the kt7 raid forum. I was then told to check this group for further tips.

Thanks for any hints

Athlon 900mhz @ 900 mhz
    ABIT KT7-RAID
    3x128 hyunday PC133 RAM
    1 IBM GXP 307030 7200rpm ATA100 on ide1
    2x IBM GXPs 307030 7200rpm ATA100 striped on array 0
    (ide 3 and 4)
    G400 3d flex
    RT2000
    DVD ROM 16x
    SCSI adapter for scanner
    (used to have) SB LIVE!

Sorry fasterbaby, but...

If you want to build a no-nonsence editing rig, the best alternatives for motherboard are still "standard", plain boards (no exotic value added features), based on Intel BX chipset.

If you want RAID (not necessary), then it is better to do it with an add-on adapter (Promise has a great success rate here) since it will not compromise the compatibility and stability of the motherboard (which is btw. the MOST important component in the system).