Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Any tips from you pros for night shooting? (640x480 pic linked)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any tips from you pros for night shooting? (640x480 pic linked)

I'm a total camera noob, and I need some tips on night shooting. Camera is a Canon Powershot S30 (3.2mp). I had a buddy of mine fiddle with my camera settings, but I have no clue what he did or how he did it. Is there a site somewhere that has tutorials on basic night shooting with a digicam? This was the result of his fiddling:

He tried to explain what he did, but he isn't the greatest teacher and I'm not the best student.
    Bart

disable flash, mount on tripod/place on ground increase aperture time.

[edit] force the camera to use low iso-level (100, 200) to prevent "noise".

mfg
    wulfman
    "Perhaps they communicate by changing colour? Like those sea creatures .."
    "Lobsters?"
    "Really? I didn't know they did that."
    "Oh yes, red means help!"

Comment

I had a chance to field test a Litton M85 on a Suppressed Ruger 10/22 a couple of years ago: Worked great on Rabbits.
      Hey, Donny! We got us a German who wants to die for his country... Oblige him. - Lt. Aldo Raine

Comment

He shoulda opened the aperture a bit though, having the ground 2 inches from the lens and the background in focus looks a tad odd.

Oh, and if possible use the proper white balance for the available lighting. If your camera can do custom color balance, bring a heavy sheet of white paper so that it can figure out the proper white balance. I loved using a friends Canon EOS D60, expensive digicams are a blast.
        Last edited by Jon P. Inghram; 1 November 2003, 21:21.

Comment

Jon: thats my fault. I couldnt hold the camera steady, so I set it on the curb.
          Bart

Comment

The angle from the curb looks cool, just needs a little less depth of field.
            Attached Files

Comment