Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DV files... type1/type 2 clarification, please.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DV files... type1/type 2 clarification, please.

Hi everyone,

I didn’t want to tread on KevinG’s toes so I started a new thread.

Forgive me I’m new to this DV lark. Although not to good “old fashioned” analogue capture and editing. I’m still using my “trusty” old RRS while I’m on the DV learning curve!

I’ve recently got a Pyro with MSPro6. Am I right in assuming it’s not the card, but the capture program, which dictates the file type.

E.g. The Ulead captures DV type 1 which is usable in MSPro6, obviously. But AVI_IO captures DV type 2, which although I can manipulate in Mediastudio cannot export unless I do a time consuming file convert. I assume that Premiere would handle the AVI_IO captured files perfectly.

I know that Markus is working on Direct Show capture using AVI_IO, so would I be correct in assuming that the Direct Show captured AVI_IO files would be DV type 1 and therefore useable in MSPro6?

Thanks, in advance,

Nick.

Type1 DV files use a single stream of DV data, but are only compatible with applications that use the Microsoft DirectShow media system.

Type2 DV files use two streams of data. One is the original DV data, the second is a duplicate of the same PCM audio stream that is interleaved into the DV data stream.

The two data streams are required to be compatible with Microsoft's older Video-for-Windows media system. There is no difference in quality. They are just two different ways to store the digital data created by your camcorder.

The major differences between the two different file formats are:

Application compatiblity;

Type1 DV files are only compatible with DirectShow-compatible applications.

Type2 DV files are compatible with DirectShow, Video-for-Windows and QuickTime-compatible applications.

File length;