Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Recommend a good yet inexpensive capture card for analog capture?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recommend a good yet inexpensive capture card for analog capture?

I'm currently using an ATI AIW 128 16MB video card for capture. I don't really capture using the MPEG modes. I either use the PICVideo MJPEG capture with a low compression ratio or huffyuv lossless capture.

Could someone recommend a good card for this type of capture? I guess it just needs to do yuv in order to capture huffyuv and PicVideo MJPEG but I'm not an expert and am therefore not sure.

I do think the captures using the ATI card are pretty good but a few people in this forum have criticized the low quality Brooktree (I think) electronics in this card. I'd like to move up to something with a little higher quality. I'm also going to build a video editing system for my sister so she'll need a capture card as well. Here video camera is analog so DV support is not necessary.

I'm thinking about building her a system based on the 815e motherboard and using the integrated video with a additional capture card to save money. She doesn't play 3D games. On the other hand the recent price drops in the Thunderbird processor have made them look pretty irresistable.

What specifically are the electronics portion of an analog capture card that make it capable of high quality capture?

Thanks for any advice and suggestions,

Mark
    - Mark

Core 2 Duo E6400 o/c 3.2GHz - Asus P5B Deluxe - 2048MB Corsair Twinx 6400C4 - ATI AIW X1900 - Seagate 7200.10 SATA 320GB primary - Western Digital SE16 SATA 320GB secondary - Samsung SATA Lightscribe DVD/CDRW- Midiland 4100 Speakers - Presonus Firepod - Dell FP2001 20" LCD - Windows XP Home