Decent Backup s/w?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Decent Backup s/w?

Came anyone recommend a decent backup s/w for use on win xp.
    It will be used to backup data over a network from several machines. I would like it to be able to do this unatended.

Thank you
    Yeah, well I'm gonna build my own lunar space lander! With blackjack aaaaannd Hookers! Actually, forget the space lander, and the blackjack. Ahhhh forget the whole thing!

For home use or business?

Veritas/Stomp Backup Exec/Backup MyPC packages are pretty flexible and can backup across a network via push or pull (except for remote registry backups) to file/files on disk or spanned tapes, CDs or DVDs.
    Yes I drive a 13yr old Volkswagen; Yes I'm a dirt poor college student; Yes every tank of gas is more $$ than the value of my car, but it is FUN to drive, so I don't care about your ego or how much your car cost, if you insist on going the exact same speed in the passing lane as the car next to you for 10 minutes, stop being a self righteous ass, move the hell over and just let me by!!!

Comment

For business, but for a small (6 computer) network.
      Thanks I'll have a look at the veritas stuff.
      Has anyone used Winbackup?http://www.liutilities.com/products/winbackup/
      Yeah, well I'm gonna build my own lunar space lander! With blackjack aaaaannd Hookers! Actually, forget the space lander, and the blackjack. Ahhhh forget the whole thing!

Comment

Yes. Veritas/Stomp are the defacto backup standard. I've always used them fairly exclusively, ever since it was... err... GOD I can't even remember who first wrote Backup Exec. How sad is that?

- Gurm
        The Internet - where men are men, women are men, and teenage girls are FBI agents!

I'm the least you could do
        If only life were as easy as you
        I'm the least you could do, oh yeah
        If only life were as easy as you
        I would still get screwed

Comment