PDA

View Full Version : game resolutions not available



Espique
6th March 2003, 13:58
hi,

in some games I can not select 1280*1024 as the resolution. some only allow me 1168*864, yet others 1280*960.

I just installed Freelancer a couple of days ago and I can't set it to 1280*1024.

the matrox support guys say this would be normal. is this true?

sascha

Kruzin
6th March 2003, 14:40
I don't know about that game in particular, but this is normal for many games. Most resolutions you can choose from are a 4:3 ratio, and those games may be fixed at that ratio. 1280x1024 is NOT 4:3....but 800x600, 1024x768, 1152x864, 1280x960, etc are...

GinoCyber
7th March 2003, 08:26
Ahemm:)

http://forum.matrox.com/mgaforum/Forum10/HTML/005304.html

1 Support Video Resolutions - Freelancer only supports 4x3 aspect ratios. Please note that not all video cards support all video resolutions in all bit depths. Here are the supported video resolutions:
1600x1200
1280x960
1152x864(not all cards support this one)
1024x768
800x600

RichG
7th March 2003, 08:28
I see that you are still trying to prove me wrong aren't you ;)

Espique
7th March 2003, 08:45
no, I actually asked this before you brought in your evidence :)
s.

RichG
7th March 2003, 10:13
Oh. I was going by the time on the post which says you posted it yesterday at 4:58 PM but forgot about the time difference :)

Espique
7th March 2003, 11:35
while we are at it: is there a way to select which monitor a game''s going to use?

s.

Zao
7th March 2003, 15:20
Some games allow you to choose which video card you want to use for it, depending on the age of the game it will either present a list of graphics cards, one for each monitor, or a list of monitors to use.