Got a R9700 today

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Got a R9700 today

After seing a Powercolor 9700 non-pro roughly at the same price as a regular 9500 pro I did a bit of research - rage3d foruns may be kind of a jungle, but they do have lots of valuable information.

I went for it. Instalation was a breeze. I Did the warp11 bios flash trick - for those not familiar with ATI hacks, non-pro 9700´s have locked bios, preventing any sort of overclocking. Fortunatly some guy found how to hack it. It´s now clocked at 320/292 from 275/270. A pro´s default clocks are 320/310, the memory handicap was expected as it has 3.3ns ram instead of the 2.8 found on pro cards.

And yes, it´s as good as they say.
    Catalyst 3.1 drivers seem very mature to me. Performance skyrocketed, specially on higher resolutions or with AA/aniso. On the latest settings it easily doubles my previous GF4 Ti framerates. It´s really nice to play UT2003 at 1024x768 4xAA 16xAniso. The GF4 crawled with 2x AA/2x Aniso.

2d quality was a surprise, definitly much sharper than the Ti4400... Again, I was surprised, specially because Powercolor isn´t a premium brand.
    Last edited by Nuno; 1 March 2003, 18:09.

Really? cool. Power Color and 2D. That's just shocking

that's good news. congrats on ur new buy

Comment

Another interesting fact was the significant noise reduction on my case. I never noticed the GF4 card actually made so much noise! Much quieter now.

Anyway, highly recomended, despite R350 being around the corner. R350 will be a expensive high-end card, RV350 being the budget card that probably will perform slower than previous generation card (R9000/8500 anyone?).

And definitly recomended over any R9500 card. 256-bit bus is really worth it.

Comment

glad you like it, I really love my 9700. The raw power is amazing! Teh fun thing to do is run slighly older games with 6xAA and 16xAF. They look great.