Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• survey: video standard for broadcast quality

Hi all,

although I realise that most users on this forum are either enthousiastic home users (like myself) or (semi-)professionals working on standalone NLE systems, I feel the need to post this question here. All because of the enormous amount of knowledge that´s gathered on these pages.
    Besides being a desktop video enthousiast, I am a professional video editor, working on both linear and non-linear high-end editing systems for a regional broadcasting company in the Netherlands.
    At the moment the company is investigating the possibility to set up a combined newsroom/playout system. For those of you who don´t know what that is: it´s basically a system on which all footage is stored on a central server, allowing users on different levels to access this footage on their local workstations. Journalists can log and spot their footage, add voice over text and titles and if they want to, roughly edit their items, which can then be passed on to broadcast video engineers, like myself, to process the rough cut into items ready for broadcasting. The playout system is a sequencer-like application in which finished items can be scheduled to be automatically or manually broadcasted.
    The video routing system we currently have works with SDI video, capable of maintaining high quality video from various sources, including high end Avid NLE sets and Sony Digital Betacam and Betacam SX tape devices.
    Most vendors of newsroom-like systems however base their product on DV compression, which of course is fine for home use, semi-professional use and, to a certain extent, professional use like news gathering and sports events.