Matrox G450: AGP vs PCI question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Matrox G450: AGP vs PCI question

Here we go: I'm a designer. I need a card which will give me excellent 2d quality, so my choice is quite clear: Matrox G450 32Mb DualHead (G400/G400MAX is already impossible to get and 2d quality of G550 is heard to be somewhat worse than of G450).

The question is: PCI or AGP? The motherboard will be either Asus P4T533-C or Intel D850EMVR. With a PCI card i will be able to plug some cool 3d card into AGP slot (like ATI Radeon 9700 Pro) and spend some free time on games (I still love some of them).

But... If any of you tells me that the 2d quality of PCI version is one percent WORSE than the quality of the AGP card, or it just has some problems, which do not appear on AGP - I'll surely buy the AGP card and forget about games...

I would also love to hear from you about the following: are there any general disagvantages when using a PCI card instead of AGP, when no 3d is needed? Lack of perfomance? Possible problems?

Thank you.
    V.

Ever considered Parhelia?
    Good 2D and okay 3D.

I don't think there is 32mb G450 PCI, only 16mb, even if there is, there are some problems with G450 PCI on some chipsets.

Also... hmm... I'm not sure if it is true, but P4T533 only accepts 1.5v AGP cards.
    P4 Northwood 1.8GHz@2.7GHz 1.65V Albatron PX845PEV Pro
    Running two Dell 2005FPW 20" Widescreen LCD
    And of course, Matrox Parhelia | My Matrox histroy: Mill-I, Mill-II, Mystique, G400, Parhelia

Comment

Yes, but "some chipsets" is non-Intel chipsets. Aren't both of those boards running Intel chips?
      Gigabyte P35-DS3L with a Q6600, 2GB Kingston HyperX (after *3* bad pairs of Crucial Ballistix 1066), Galaxy 8800GT 512MB, SB X-Fi, some drives, and a Dell 2005fpw. Running WinXP.

Comment

Yes but when these "new" Intel chipsets are not exactly the same as "old" chipsets... so I'm not so sure about 845/850 series.