Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which camcorder?

Hi,

I'm a relative newbie to video and I'm looking to get a camcorder which will actually be for a friend. Anyway, I'm familiar with some terms and have had plenty of digital camera (stills) reviews shoved down my throat.

So - my questions! Ok, I have absolutely loads so any help you can give will be most appreciated.

It may or may not be used with a PC. Should I go digital or analogue? Can digital be viewed thru a TV? How long can dv cameras record? Lots more but I'll leave it at that for now.

Thanks in advance,

Paul.

--
    <a href="http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.mccarroll/hosted/arena">The Pace3000 Arena</a>
    Meet Jasmine.
    flickr.com/photos/pace3000

Paul, the one thing I believe that EVERYONE here will be agreement with is to go digital with any new camcorder purchase. However, any agreement beyond that could be debatable. Please don't make Brian and I and a few others fight over the benefits of Digital8 versus MiniDV again. I still have the scars from previous discussions. Use the Search function at this forum and look for D8, Digital8, DV, and/or MiniDV. You'll find a ton of information and you might even have a chuckle or two reading the parts where we all got carried away expressing our strongly held convictions. (I sometimes wonder how crazy we'd get if we were actually debating something really important! )

Having said all that, I will answer one of your questions before I let someone else have a go. As far as I know, all digital camcorders that have a "firewire" output also have a composite and an S-video output. This allows you to view your footage on a regular TV. However, keep in mind that all digital camcorders do NOT have a digital ("firewire") output. Check carefully.