Marvel, MS Pro and video capture.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marvel, MS Pro and video capture.

Dr Mordrid (or others). I'm new to video editing (I'm an animator/modeller) but want to expand my skills into video production.
    Have just bought a Marvel G400TV and MS Pro 5.2 on a PentIII 450 with 256 Ram running NT4 (SP5).

Have a few basic questions so please be patient?

My understanding is that video capture (MJPEG)is better using the hardware features of the Matrox card rather than through software capture(I have to use at least 4.6:1 comp for my NTFS SCSI drive after benchmarking it for PAL 704x576x25fps for zero dropped frames). Capture is from a DV cam and SVID in. Initial tests seem to give good quality. Is this correct?

From the forum there seems to be a 2GIG limit per file for capture with PC-VCR? Is this the main reason for using software codecs like YUY2 or Huffyuv? rather than Pc-VCR? or is there a way to capture through MSPro with the Marvel MJPEG to overcome this? What about problems with sound sync for long recording?

If I were to use these codecs for compression-editing and then decompression back to video output are there performance/quality advantages/disadvantages
    over just using MJPEG from PC-VCR?

If I don't install Matrox video tools (PC-VCR) how do I activate the Matrox hardware capabilities in MS Pro?

Thanks for any advice/references you can give.