PDA

View Full Version : Paddy joins the men



Paddy
8th November 2002, 07:06
'Your ZenADSL Home account will be activated on Thursday 14th November 2002'

bye bye 56K hell!

GNEP
8th November 2002, 07:11
I'm jealous!

ZokesPro
8th November 2002, 07:16
Welcome to the world of highspeed porn! eu... I mean internet! :D

Paddy
8th November 2002, 07:22
ahem! :D

Byock
8th November 2002, 07:43
Hey! Paddy!

What is you avatar doing to that poor chicken?? :eek: :eek:

Paddy
8th November 2002, 07:46
wrong thread!

rugger
8th November 2002, 07:48
You will love ADSL.

It is MUCH more stable than 56K connections. V.90 modem incompatibility drove me up the wall. :)

What speed are you getting? :) (I have 256/64, not great, but still much faster than modem)

Paddy
8th November 2002, 07:51
512/256 with 8static IPs thrown in! :D

I have just realised that i will loose my old email addys.... I have been given an IP for a mail server... I should be able to create my own address right?

Sasq
8th November 2002, 07:53
yup with those 8 static ip's you can pretty much do as you want. personally I have 1 static IP (the 8/16 version is another $60 a month)

But you don't want to know my speed ;)

ZokesPro
8th November 2002, 08:01
Originally posted by Sasq
yup with those 8 static ip's you can pretty much do as you want. personally I have 1 static IP (the 8/16 version is another $60 a month)

But you don't want to know my speed ;)

Yes I do!

I've alwyas asked but you never tell me. I am really curious to know, please! :)

Sasq
8th November 2002, 08:02
ok I got 8Mb/1Mb with the option of going up to 12Mb/1Mb in Dec.

Costs me about $90 usd a month for the SOHO account

rugger
8th November 2002, 08:03
Originally posted by Paddy [MU]
512/256 with 8static IPs thrown in! :D

I have just realised that i will loose my old email addys.... I have been given an IP for a mail server... I should be able to create my own address right?

If you want to run your own mailserver, you will need to know the in's and out's of email systems + dns. email systems are not hard, but dns is hairy at first, before you really understand how it all works.

I can help guide you in setting up DNS + mailserver under linux if you want.

Then you can have as many addresses as you want.

What you need to run your own mailserver:

1) A static IP address (you have it)
2) A linux box to host DNS+mailserver
3) A registered domain name.
4) A secondary DNS server. Your ISP can ussually become your secondary DNS server, at fairly low cost.

But I could be completely off track here (I may have misunderstood your comment)

About my ADSL:
1) No static IP. While the plan I have does not have an option for a static IP, I am pretty sure I could convince my ISP to give me one for a price. But I don't think I will bother.
2) I use my ISP's mail servers. We also get 2 extra mailboxes. We didn't have to change our email address because we didn't change ISP's when moving to ADSL.

rugger
8th November 2002, 08:06
Originally posted by Sasq
ok I got 8Mb/1Mb with the option of going up to 12Mb/1Mb in Dec.

Costs me about $90 usd a month for the SOHO account

VDSL. very nice, very fast, very NOT happening in Australia :D

xDSL, the first practical broadband technology. :)

ZokesPro
8th November 2002, 08:07
Originally posted by Sasq
ok I got 8Mb/1Mb with the option of going up to 12Mb/1Mb in Dec.

Costs me about $90 usd a month for the SOHO account

Now that's what we call surfing! :up:

Sasq
8th November 2002, 08:07
as for dns i'd recomend saving yourself the grief and go to http://www.zoneedit.com sign up for the free dns account

Dan

Byock
8th November 2002, 08:09
How would it be? Well, I guess I can't complain about 256/128. At least I am not in 56k hell. (Sorry Liz)

:cool:

Sasq
8th November 2002, 08:11
its not to bad, but no point in upgrading to 12Mb (need a new modem) as I host a few web-sites (some of you know which ones) I'd like more upload bandwidth.

I find most servers when I'm downloading peak at about 150KB a second. (some more, some less)

but its nice getting RH iso's in 30 mins :)

rugger
8th November 2002, 08:17
Originally posted by Sasq
its not to bad, but no point in upgrading to 12Mb (need a new modem) as I host a few web-sites (some of you know which ones) I'd like more upload bandwidth.

I find most servers when I'm downloading peak at about 150KB a second. (some more, some less)

but its nice getting RH iso's in 30 mins :)

*grumble grumble*

256K gives you about 100meg per hour. Thats about 7 hours per ISO for me :)

Sasq
8th November 2002, 08:19
Here its all about population density, that makes it worthwhile.

In Adelaide (home town) its about 600/km2 in totsuka-ku where I live now its about 9000/km2

rugger
8th November 2002, 08:29
Originally posted by Sasq
Here its all about population density, that makes it worthwhile.

In Adelaide (home town) its about 600/km2 in totsuka-ku where I live now its about 9000/km2

Yep, I can imagine that.

I don't think VDSL will ever really work in australia, for that reason.

However, I think I can live with ADSL for quite a while :)

Sasq
8th November 2002, 08:31
Same thing, thanks to population density i can now get 100Mb fiber, but the soho line is double what I pay now, (the wife won't let me :( )

Dan

But either way, any ?DSL is an improvement over dial up, plus the convienience of not tying up the phone line

Paddy
8th November 2002, 09:46
Thanks Rugger.

I have played with Exchange and 2K server before.. I never got it quite working, but i think it was around the corner!

When i'm connected, I will finish downloading mandrake 9.
I have a P2 300 box with 24GB to play with, will that do???
I think i (my family) have a registered domain name (www.bushe.co.uk) i'd be interested in using that.

Is there anything that needs to be done remotely or can i configure it all from my box???

GT98
8th November 2002, 10:11
Blah screw DSL. My Cable company is 10mbit/1mbit..but due to Linksys Router and my Motorla Surfboard I'm limted to about 5 mbit...which is still pently fast enough. I get about 500 kbps if I down load from Fileshack with my Mercury account :D

rugger
8th November 2002, 10:34
Paddy,

That box will be perfect. In fact, it is much faster than what is really needed.

I have set up a linux box that on 333mhz Celeron that handled mail for dozens of users, samba for those dozens of users, squid, and a pile of other stuff. Linux is amazingly solid at server tasks. The only problem with linux is that it will be quite a shell shock at first. (things are largely configured via text files)

About all that needs to be done remotely is to redelegate the domain name + get your ISP to become secondary for it. You can also get your ISP to handle your domain name, but it is more limited than handling it yourself. (you have to contact them to change you DNS records). Or, if this domain's name primary and secondary servers are already set up and you are happy with their location (and you can change their contents) then you don't need to do a redelegation.

Lizzard[MPE]
8th November 2002, 12:01
::sigh:: maybe one day i will experience it again

DentyCracker
9th November 2002, 07:55
!@#$%^&*()_ Having exerienced 9 months of 768/256 DSL I am now once again stuck in 56k hell. Blackpool is not getting DSL anytime soon. The sad thing is, if I were back home I could get 1Mbps ADSL. Grrrrrrr.

rugger
9th November 2002, 08:07
Originally posted by DentyCracker
!@#$%^&*()_ Having exerienced 9 months of 768/256 DSL I am now once again stuck in 56k hell. Blackpool is not getting DSL anytime soon. The sad thing is, if I were back home I could get 1Mbps ADSL. Grrrrrrr.

Ouch, that must hurt!