Fasttrak vs SCSI

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fasttrak vs SCSI

I have followed the forum on Fasttrak - I have a "true" (no hack) Fasttrak 66 and can not get rid of the crackling noise. I have an ISA-based sound card, cleared the PCI bus . . .

If I accept that the Via chipset is to blame I have two choices:
    A new MB or go SCSI. A new MB will be cheaper but SCSI would be fun to play with. Will my Via chipset limit me if I go with a SCSI RAID set-up?

Output from my RR is great if I stay with Matrox MJPEG. Unfortunately I need to run my video out of Power Point and for some reason using the Matrox MJPEG causes Power Point to pause for 5 to 10 seconds while it "thinks about" the video slide. This is a problem when I'm trying to give a smooth presentation. Using software codecs does not cause any pause in Power Point. Unfortunately the software codecs I've used to date (I'm a novice) look terrible. Which is why I'm looking at uncompressed video.

Config:

P3 733
    Soltek MB
    Via Apollo Pro 133 chipset
    Win98SE

VIA chipped boards can exhibit lower PCI performance, that's for sure.

As for SCSI vs. IDE RAID's; the biggest difference is price. The Fasttrak's look to the system like an SCSI controller so. For me the "fun of playing with SCSI" looses its appeal when the bills come in.

Have you performed the filesystem and OS tuneups recommended in the Getting Started and Idiots Guides?

Dr. Mordrid

Comment

One of the many benefits of SCSI is that you can place the devices in an external box, thus freeing up space in your PC and reducing generated heat.
      <TABLE BGCOLOR=Red><TR><TD><Font-weight="+1"><font COLOR=Black>The world just changed, Sep. 11, 2001</font></Font-weight></TR></TD></TABLE>

Comment

I haven't found that necessary with the Maxtor drives and a decent case. I use the Apex Supercase full tower. It has 6 5" bays, 6 3.5" bays, space for 3 large fans and a 300w power supply.