PDA

View Full Version : Oops Screwed up BIOS up....



GT98
21st September 2002, 10:20
Well I did it...misflashed my BIOS on my A7S333. I accidently wiped out the BIOS section on Asus EzBios update (yeah easy my ass) instead of the boot block area, which was what the update was for. Anyone deal with ASUS with getting RMAs from them or am I'm better off getting an MSI 745 Ultra? If its going to take weeks for me to get an RMA I'll just get MSI board (if I can find one) and then sell the Asus board when I get it back....suggestions?

ZokesPro
21st September 2002, 10:36
I did get my Asus mobo fixed by Asus cause of a bad bios flash, but it was the store from which I bought it from that did the RMA. And it took a total of 2 weeks. I just told them that I couldn't boot cause I thought the bios was corrupt and they fixed it for free.

mutz
21st September 2002, 10:46
...my Gigabyte has dual bios. Guess that's why.

You could check out the Gigabyte GA-7VRXP, it has dual AMI bios.

http://www.giga-byte.com/products/7vrxp.htm

K6-III
21st September 2002, 11:00
Asus takes about 2weeks for RMA. If you ordered from Newegg, you can RMA much quicker...

Gear
21st September 2002, 11:43
If you have a friend with the SAME board, ask him to do this:
Boot his PC, dump his bios into a file (or use a flash utility to save it), carefuly remove the bios chip from the mb - while the system is running, insert your chip, flash it, and then swap back the original chip and power off.
Put it back on your mb, and boot...

I almost forgot: put the flash utility on a floppy and boot from it, don't load up windoze.

K6-III
21st September 2002, 12:36
....most of us wouldn't feel confortable doing that...

ZokesPro
21st September 2002, 13:16
It's very risky too.

Edit: I thought about doing that with my mobo when I screwed up my bios but I would rather wait than maybe ending up screw up 2 mobo's!

Greebe
21st September 2002, 13:20
No riskier than having a dead MB... which could still be returned/RMA'd ;)

Wombat
21st September 2002, 13:25
Aye, but if you mess up your friend's PC, you have 2 dead boxes. And you have to be careful, lest the tampering if obvious. This is also assuming the flash rom is socketed.

That said, I'd still do it.

UtwigMU
21st September 2002, 14:17
IIRC I saw www.badflash.com link being suggested to someone with similar problems.

A colleague successfully did this when one of the BIOSes in computer training room crapped out (Identical computers: ABIT KT7, Durons)

- booted a healthy computer using floppy with biosflash
- hotswapped bad BIOS chip into good computer
- flashed it

I heard Asus tech support is not teh win but I newer dealt with it myself.

Cobos
21st September 2002, 15:18
I've hotswapped the BIOS on cards to fizx faulty BIOS'es several times... Though I do work in a computershop and I've had easy access to more than 2 equal MBs :-) But the important point is that you need a decent chip removal tool or else you'll easily slip and kill your mb. And of course disonnect everything except 1 ram chip, CPU and VGA, if you're unlucky you really don't want to mess up more than necissary.

Cobos

Gurm
21st September 2002, 15:23
Err... many mobos will in fact boot from a floppy even with a bad BIOS. The floppy should contain DOS, the flasher, and an autoexec.bat that has the unattended flash command line - which is probably available from ASUS.COM - give it a try, worked like a champ for my MSI when I hosed it once.

- Gurm

GT98
21st September 2002, 18:31
Originally posted by Gurm
Err... many mobos will in fact boot from a floppy even with a bad BIOS. The floppy should contain DOS, the flasher, and an autoexec.bat that has the unattended flash command line - which is probably available from ASUS.COM - give it a try, worked like a champ for my MSI when I hosed it once.

- Gurm

Gurm,

Mines dead...doesnt boot to anything...:mad: Anyway I went out and ordered a MSI 745 Ultra through Googlegear for $73 bucks with free 2 day shipping from FedEx. I'll get the Asus Board RMA'ed and Sell it when I get it back. Anyone interested? :)

ZokesPro
21st September 2002, 19:56
Originally posted by GT98


Gurm,

Mines dead...doesnt boot to anything...:mad: Anyway I went out and ordered a MSI 745 Ultra through Googlegear for $73 bucks with free 2 day shipping from FedEx. I'll get the Asus Board RMA'ed and Sell it when I get it back. Anyone interested? :)


How much?

Gurm
21st September 2002, 19:56
Nah, you couldn't pay me to use a VIA board at this point.

- Gurm

K6-III
21st September 2002, 21:06
The A7S333 is based on the SIS745 chipset....not VIA...

The PIT
22nd September 2002, 06:39
Originally posted by Gurm
Err... many mobos will in fact boot from a floppy even with a bad BIOS. The floppy should contain DOS, the flasher, and an autoexec.bat that has the unattended flash command line - which is probably available from ASUS.COM - give it a try, worked like a champ for my MSI when I hosed it once.

- Gurm

Thats what I did for a pal of mine when his Bios went up the spout. Swapping and frying another board will probably mean exfriend or a lot pints that will need buying.

GT98
22nd September 2002, 06:41
Originally posted by Gurm
Nah, you couldn't pay me to use a VIA board at this point.

- Gurm

LOL Same here...getting the same SIS 745 Chipset...just want to try the MSI board since it has better OCing capabilties then the Asus board I have from what I've seen/read. I just wish I could get a SIS 746 board instead :D

GT98
22nd September 2002, 06:42
Originally posted by ZokesPro



How much?


Lemme get back to you on that...your first on the list though! ;)

ZokesPro
24th September 2002, 08:22
Originally posted by GT98



Lemme get back to you on that...your first on the list though! ;)

Sweet.