Wireless adaptor for desktop PC / Hub

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wireless adaptor for desktop PC / Hub

I need to purchase a Wireless adaptor for my desktop PC so that my PDA can connect to it. I am not looking to spend too much money on it

Are there any differences between models except for range/bandwith?

Could anyone recommend a model?
    The Welsh support two teams when it comes to rugby. Wales of course, and anyone else playing England

The Linksys Models I've had good luck with The 2.4 GHz versions are very good, but from what I am told, what is permitted here in the U.S. may not be permited in Great Britain.

There is a brand new version of their wireless AP called the WAP51AB: it is dual frequency (2.4GHz and 5GHz), THIS is the one to get, as it protects your network by requiring authentication and covers all of the commonly available Wireless devices out there.

I have lots of experience with 2.4 GHz Cisco APs and, unfortunately, cannot recommend them just yet; but these are out of most people's reach anyway.
    Hey, Donny! We got us a German who wants to die for his country... Oblige him. - Lt. Aldo Raine

Comment

Cheers MMM.

I am trying to decide whether to get a bluetooth or wireless PDA.
      I was looking at the adaptors to see if that would have an impact on my decision.
      Given the considerably shortened battery life of PDA's with wireless, i am opting for bluetooth.

It's a shame, as the adaptors seem much more expensive
      The Welsh support two teams when it comes to rugby. Wales of course, and anyone else playing England

Comment

Bluetooth (for better or worse) is the defacto standard. The new is never cheap, unfortunately.
        Hey, Donny! We got us a German who wants to die for his country... Oblige him. - Lt. Aldo Raine

Comment

I noticed that you have a PDA.

Do you use SD? If you do, how does it compare to CF for storage? I am trying to get away from buying a sleeve for the brick!

Comment