Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parhelia and Geforce4?

Hi dudes!

I am a student and my old G400MAX has gotten old. I want to play bf1942 and you'll need a T&L compatible videocard...

So, I am buying a Parhelia when I can afford one and that time is not now...
    So, I want to buy a cheap videocard and I am thinking of buying a Gforce4 MX420 PCI to help my G400MAX with games...

Now, how will my computer and my XP like that? (hr hr, no jokes plz. I know I am buying a g-fart...)
    Will matrox drivers and matrox G400MAX live with it? Will I get any trouble with that or...

Can I play games with my secondary monitor and secondary PCI videocard?

What do you think?

I think your asking for trouble. At work I have an intergrated 815 chipset video and a PCI G450. I tired to run GTA3 on the computer at work, but kept getting an error telling me that I didnt have enough video memory which was BS. I think DX or some games might have problems with dual video cards in systems. If your looking for a cheap Video card why not look at a AGP Radeon 8500LE or something? They have half way decent Img Quaitly and the Drivers dont suck as much as they did before
    Why is it called tourist season, if we can't shoot at them?

Comment

thx for your fast reply.

i really dont want a ATI so, my question still remains unanswered.

anyone ever tried that crazy hardware config? matrox AGP and a gforce PCI?

Comment

The Geforce MX version do not have a hardware T&L unit as they are DirectX 7 cards. But for BF1942 you need hardware T&L so you need to buy a TI version of the GeForce 4

Comment

GF4 MX's are = GF2's correct? If so then they do (or rather should) have hardware T&L. Just not fully DX8 compliant.
          "Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter, and those who matter don't mind." -- Dr. Seuss

"Always do good. It will gratify some and astonish the rest." ~Mark Twain

Comment

Originally posted by Radagast