Maxtor hard drives

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Maxtor hard drives

Do Maxtor Hard drive have suck? I'm Curious since I've been using Western Digital Drives for the past 8 years or so (yeah I know they have problems, but at least I can get a cross shiped drive with in a week!) and never had luck with Maxtor drives (they all started to get bad sectors with in 3 months of using them..back in the days of DOS ) , but I'm looking for a HD to use in a Shuttle SS51 XPC mini PC and I think might run into problems with IBM or WD drive in a small warm Box () like that.
    Why is it called tourist season, if we can't shoot at them?

No, Maxtor hard drives are quite possibly the best, most reliable drives on the market right now.
    Gigabyte P35-DS3L with a Q6600, 2GB Kingston HyperX (after *3* bad pairs of Crucial Ballistix 1066), Galaxy 8800GT 512MB, SB X-Fi, some drives, and a Dell 2005fpw. Running WinXP.

Comment

Originally posted by Wombat
      No, Maxtor hard drives are quite possibly the best, most reliable drives on the market right now.
      I tend to agree. I have a DiamondMax60+ and it's reliable and fast. Been using it for close to a year now without problems, just OS problems.
      Titanium is the new bling!
      (you heard from me first!)

Comment

I beg to differ

Wombat, if that's the case then we as consumers are in for a tough ride. I've installed about ten Maxtor D740X-6L 20-80 Gb drives in client's computers in the last eight months and two of them needed to be exchanged immediately. One drive would simply lock the computer right up when it was connected and the other drive, although appearing to work alright, could not be used to capture DV at all without massive frame drops. HD Tach showed huge spikes when used to test this drive. Any other drive in it's place worked fine.