DVD authoring software

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DVD authoring software

What are people using for DVD authoring software? I'm putting together a PC that includes a Panasonic LF-D321 DVD-R/RAM drive, and I'm wondering what to use. I've been very happy with TMPGenc for MPEG-2 encoding, so I don't really care too much about the MPEG conversion side of any authoring software. I'm just looking for something that will take an MPEG-2 file and slap it onto a DVD-R, creating a few chapters and menus along the way.

I think the LF-D321 comes with DVDit! LE. What would competing and more advanced packages give me?

I don't think that you need a more advanced package, maybe one that is layed out a little better. And no, I am not an expert here, but I think that I looked at this a while back and was not impressed at all. Not at what it could or couldn't do, at how hard it was to get it to do anything at all.

I would lean towards something that is more user friendly. There really isn't anything copmlicated about authoring, just bad SW IMO. I looked at SpruceUp! and was amazed at how much easier it was to use and it seemed to have everything that you would need. Too bad it went under. I imagine Ulead DVD Movie Factory is going to get a lot of recommendations here, and it is probably the way that I will go as well.
    WinXP Pro SP2 ABIT IC7 Intel P4 3.0E 1024M Corsair PC3200 DCDDR ATI AIW x800XT 2 Samsung SV1204H 120G HDs AudioTrak Prodigy 7.1 3Com NIC Cendyne DVR-105 DVD burner LG DVD/CD-RW burner Fortron FSP-300-60ATV PSU Cooled by Zalman Altec Lansing MX-5021

Comment

Unless DVDiT! has added support for compressed audio recently, you'll need something else, as it uses only PCM audio. This means the audio of your 2hr project takes ~1.3GB of your 4.26 GB DVD-R forcing a lower bit rate than you might like.