PDA

View Full Version : Parhelia and Soldier of Fortune 2



leech
6th July 2002, 10:47
I'm now using the newest drivers (1.0.2.228) and the FAA turned on to x16 is MESSED in a big way. It doesn't just anti-alias the lines, it highlights them. So that it looks like you're just looking at the frames without textures, and yet there are textures in it. Anyone know how to take a screenshot in this game? I'll gladly post it to show what it's doing. I had to turn FAA off, to make it playable. That and the performance isn't the best in the world. Maybe I need to go through and change some settings or something.

Leech

R0M
6th July 2002, 16:12
You are right, the FAA is definitely a known issue and the good news that it's already fixed internally. I'll see on having a fix for you pretty soon. As for tweaking yes, the problem that the game detected Parhelia as an unknown card. Unfortunately the default script for an unknown card suppose to have DXT1 on if the card has 128 Megs of memory or more. But it didn't, so you need to set it yourself to DXT1 under advanced options, Image is currently set to "Default" so change it to "DXT1" and you should be set. Raven already fixed this detection problem and should be addressed in their upcoming patch. Let me know if that helps,

Regards,

leech
6th July 2002, 22:09
I did enable the DXT1 and it seemed to help performance. Read it somewhere on the matrox tech support forum, I believe. Would really like to get that FAA working though. It works in GTA3 and looks SWEET. Great job on the video quality of the Parhlelia, guys. Love the card so far, just the problem with Neverwinter Nights killing me now, and the fact that no linux drivers yet. (that's the one killing me, having to use this pathetic OS (WinXP))

Leech

R0M
6th July 2002, 22:32
Yes i understand, i'll try and get the NWN fix as soon as possible,

Regards,

Fenrir(AVA)
7th July 2002, 02:18
I think that highlighting effect is the same I am getting in JK2 with FAA. Thought it was 32-bit textures but it was the 16xFAA highlighting them. It was doing the same with War Craft 3 to, the fog of war textuers were all highlighted so to speak.

leech
7th July 2002, 09:50
It makes sense that it would be the same in JK2, since both SoF2 and JK2 use the Q3A engine. (Why is it lately that I feel I'm using way too many acronyms?) I'm not sure about WC3 yet, haven't tried it. I'll get back to you on that one.

Leech

Tempest
7th July 2002, 12:02
Originally posted by leech
Why is it lately that I feel I'm using way too many acronyms?Why is everybody? This bothers me a lot, especially since WC3 to me is either Wing Commander 3 or something you only have if your house is really big :p

leech
7th July 2002, 13:47
Actually I usually try to refrain from using acronyms at all, including LOL, BRB etc. Because I've always felt that's the lazy way to do it. And since I can type really fast, there really isn't a point in being that lazy. A friend and I were talking almost solely with Acronyms, it was hilarious. It's gotten WAY out of hand though. People on here don't even spell out Parhelia. I mean come on people! It's just so cool sounding. Don't abbreviate that to just P, that sounds like you're talking about a bodily function! :p

Leech

Pace
7th July 2002, 15:53
2 rite.

P.