RocketRAID

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RocketRAID

Is there anyone having experience with Rocketraid controllers from Highpoint ?

As a leading company in RAID storage solutions, HighPoint Technologies, Inc. develops and manufactures connectivity solutions for professional and industrial clients.

JSB

The RocketRaid uses the HPT372 chip, which I beleive is a ATA133 version of the old and frequently loathed HPT370, as found on many a motherboard with onboard RAID.
    I've had quite a few problems with my mobo's HPT370 RAID and have gone back to non-raid disks. There are many people around here that will curse Highpoint until they're blue in the face.

My advice? Try a Promise controller. You dont hear so many complaints about them.
    Athlon XP-64/3200, 1gb PC3200, 512mb Radeon X1950Pro AGP, Dell 2005fwp, Logitech G5, IBM model M.

Comment

I've had no experience with the latest Highpoint controllers so cannot really comment on those.
      However past experience has told me to stick with Promise.

I purchased a cheap & chearful HPT370 based RAID controller and had nothing but problems.
      I then purchased a Promise Fasttrak 100 (Currently using a Fasttrak TX2) and they have been beautiful pieces of kit.
      Certainly more expensive, but not by a major amount and I strongly agree that you get what you pay for as far as RAID controller are concerned.
      Last edited by Paulr; 4 July 2002, 15:43.
      It cost one penny to cross, or one hundred gold pieces if you had a billygoat.
      Trolls might not be quick thinkers but they don't forget in a hurry, either

Comment

The latest HPT controllers are less terrible than the earlier ones.

Kind of like Neo-Nazis are less terrible than the real Nazis were.

- Gurm
        The Internet - where men are men, women are men, and teenage girls are FBI agents!

I'm the least you could do
        If only life were as easy as you
        I'm the least you could do, oh yeah