PDA

View Full Version : Come on troops!



High_Jumbllama
29th June 2002, 13:38
Come on troops. Sun Microsystems has not taken the transition well at all. We are beginning to pass them. Move it! Move it!

lurqa_MU
30th June 2002, 04:47
Yep. We are going to pass them.

And the best part is that they have some of their own hardware working against them :D :D :D

Regards,
lurqa

High_Jumbllama
30th June 2002, 11:34
I get to be part of team and not be the person on the low rung. Not that there's anything wrong it is just good to be processing on more than a 600mhz machine. Apparently people have been forgetting to turn off their computers at night so I have been getting even more units.

High_Jumbllama
30th June 2002, 17:42
Sometime earlier than 8:51PM EST on 6/30/2002, we did it!

Matroxusers Team Page (Rank: 32)
Total team structures: 34709095

Sun Microsystems Team Page (Rank: 33)
Total team structures: 34488400

Agent31
1st July 2002, 15:56
if anyone wonders why my Agent32 alias is performing so well, it's because I've borrowed a colleagues dual Xeon 1.5 workstation while he's away for 3 weeks and set up one folder on each processor :D

And now I've figured out the -df switch, my home machine can finally keep crunching 24 hours without me being online, hurrah!

Go M.U.R.C.!

lurqa_MU
1st July 2002, 16:00
Hey Sisyfos did you just add a 100GHz Athlon XP machine to your render farm?????:confused:

Jeez. At this pace we will be in top 30 in 2-3 days!!!!

Regards,
lurqa

High_Jumbllama
1st July 2002, 20:11
A connection must have been down for a while that dozens of machines were on. Either that or Sysifos bought a Cray Supercomputer.

Sisyfos
2nd July 2002, 14:20
Wish it was so, but no super computers for me.

Friday before I went home from work, I changed my domain password and I even remembered changing the proxy.cfg on the 5 machines running DF as a service.
The machines connect to the internet via a corporate proxy on the domain, so everything should be in order.

Later friday at home I noticed that only my home machine contributed, so I gathered that in order for the new password to take effect, the services would have to be restarted (apparently the .exe only reads the procy.cfg at startup).
I just hoped they would cache right through it.

In other words I cached through the server problems over the weekend.
It's nice when a mishap turns out to be sheer luck :)

Only problem was that I had to call Servicedesk first thing monday morning and have them unlock my account, which had been bombarded by wrong passwords over the weekend :D

At the moment I have the following crunching:

Home
P4 1.8a at 2.663 (24/7)

Work
Dual P3 1.0 (24/7)
4xP4 1.6 (almost 24/7, damn users)
P3 866

Kim

lurqa_MU
4th July 2002, 08:25
:) We have passed Tesseract. Tomorrow we should pass DPRGI and be in top 30!:cool:

With a little effort we should be able to advance to 28th within a few days....

Regards,
:alien:lurqa

High_Jumbllama
4th July 2002, 08:40
Someone forgot to turn the machines off for the long holiday weekend. My production will be up. 13th place, here we come! Though it may be a year away.

Agent31
4th July 2002, 17:36
last I looked, we were ranked 30th...

rocketmanx
4th July 2002, 18:26
Nice dump Agent31!

High_Jumbllama
4th July 2002, 19:49
Originally posted by Agent31
last I looked, we were ranked 30th...

Yes, but we are 13th in production at least when I typed that. I'm aspiring to the distant future.

Agent31
4th July 2002, 20:12
cheers :) I brought all my production boxes into the one account. It's all good!

13th in production... well, according to statsman's chart, we should break into the top 25 within the next fortnight, so we'll keep an eye on it!

High_Jumbllama
6th July 2002, 10:00
It shows you as being two accounts <a href=http://www.distributedfolding.com/teampages/team609.html>here</a>.

Agent31
6th July 2002, 15:44
How did we suddenly slip to #31???

lurqa_MU
6th July 2002, 16:07
Nope. According to statsman we have more than 6 mill. wu's down to 31st.

And we should also be in 29th within 24 hours.

Regards,
lurqa

Sisyfos
6th July 2002, 16:42
We slipped alright.
DATA left 3d Headquarters with 230 mill. structures and joined SMDC which shut up to 10th place.

Kim

High_Jumbllama
6th July 2002, 17:05
It's OK. We're around 10th in weekly and daily production.

Agent31
6th July 2002, 20:53
10th is OK... we'll just have to keep the boxes grinded for a few more hours each day :alien:

Sisyfos
6th July 2002, 22:28
Yeah, I'll have them crunching 26/7 right away :cool:
Btw what happened to your other Agent 31? We lost some 700k structures.

Kim

High_Jumbllama
7th July 2002, 16:16
I think he said before that he has all his machines running under one account now.

Agent31
7th July 2002, 16:20
oops! how did that happen?? Agent31(2) is back in the fold...

HJ, you are correct, all my machines are running in one account now, so one of my aliases won't be gaining any more structures, but we'll keep it in there anyway since it's got 800K to it's name.

:D

Agent31
8th July 2002, 00:35
OK boys and girls, we're back up to #30!

lurqa_MU
8th July 2002, 05:56
We are just 11,000 wu/day short of getting in to the top 9 producers list.

If we crank up production just a bit, we will get in to the top 9 production graph on the frontpage of statsman!

Overclock them boxes!

Regards,
lurqa

Agent31
8th July 2002, 16:00
Matroxusers Team Page (Rank: 29)

plus, of little interest, I've just passed my first million structures :D

Edit: on a less posative note... my colleague comes back from his honeymoon next week which means the dual xeon 1.5G box which is doing the majority of my crunching will be offline unless I can persuade him to leave it running on one of the procs...

High_Jumbllama
9th July 2002, 08:46
28th place!

Agent31
9th July 2002, 15:44
everyone be sure to update your folding clients!!! we can't afford to slip!

High_Jumbllama
9th July 2002, 16:32
All 10 of mine are updated. 9 were automatic.

Agent31
9th July 2002, 17:06
all of my boxes stopped production over night, they're all back online now, my machine at home is still grinding away on the old version though, d'oh!

lurqa_MU
10th July 2002, 00:57
Hi,

It looks like we are handling the transition quite well. Our latest 6 hour production total at statsman was 7th best.;)

But then again, with the low wu output of this protein it is going to take forever to advance.:mad:


Regards,
lurqa

Agent31
14th July 2002, 21:14
my dual Xeon box is now offline... :(

High_Jumbllama
15th July 2002, 00:04
Sniff, sniff. We'll miss those units.