Which compressor do you recommend?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which compressor do you recommend?

I'm very new to video editing, but I'm a fast learner. What I basically want to do is make 30 second video clips of a cartoon show and put them up on my web page. I want the video to be 160x120 and to keep them 5 MB or less. No fancy tricks or anything.

What I'm not sure about is what compressor to use. According to Adobe Premiere 5.5, my options are:

1. Cinepac Codec by Radius
    2. Intel Indeo(R) Video R3.2
    3. Microsoft Video 1
    4. Microsoft RLE
    5. Indeo Video 5.04
    6. ATI YVU9 Format Codec
    7. None

Does anyone have a recommendation? And do I need to "always recompress?"

Any suggestions you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Regards,

Jennifer

None of the above.

Use MPEG-1. The files will be smaller and easier to download.

There is a free MPEG encoder available at

http://members.home.net/beyeler/bbmpeg.html

It's not very fast, but it's free and can be used as a Premiere plugin or standalone program. Plenty good for short projects.

Dr. Mordrid

[This message has been edited by DrMordrid (edited 28 May 2000).]

Comment

Use the DivX codec. It gives superior image quality in half the size. (It takes only about half the time to encode the clip too..!!)

divx.ctw.cc

have anyone heard of an divx capture board?

Comment