E3 Impressions of Parhelia SurroundGaming

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• E3 Impressions of Parhelia SurroundGaming

First a bit of background on my experience and other caveats so you can take my opinion for what it is worth:

I've been a *hardcore* PC gamer since back in the Apple ][ days. My two primary areas of "expertise" are FPS's (Original Doom, Quake, UT, etc.) and flight sims (mainly mil sims like Falcon 4, IL-2, F/A-18 etc.). I bought the first 3dfx Voodoo card when they came out, and quickly added a second for SLI. I graduated from there, eventually, to a TNT2 card, and from there to the GeForce2 GTS. Recently I bought a GeForce4 Ti4600 which I currently run on my P3-1gig 512meg rig with an Apple 22" Cinema display.

When I read about the Parhelia's offering for SurroundGaming, I was, quite simply, blown away. I was in the middle of doing some research for a new high-end display as I am building a custom office/PC gaming room. Up until I heard about the Parhelia, I was close to getting a 42" plasma strictly for gaming (would be mounted above my PC on the wall while using an LCD for "work".

Once I realized the potential of SurroundGaming, I quickly changed from plasma to a three-LCD configuration and had settled on a single unit, three panel display from 9XMedia (www.9xmedia.com) to go with my new Parhelia card as soon as it is released.

It is with this background that I ventured today to E3Expo in L.A. to see the card in action.

Now, I'm *well* aware that what I saw was a beta version, and that the drivers are *far* from complete. So.... *PLEASE* don't take this for anything more than it is: an eyewitness account of the current version of the card.