You guys are great but one more thing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• You guys are great but one more thing

I did as I was told the attack that worked was the alt ctrl f6 thing, now I am at the login in stage and root doesn’t work, it asks me for a password which I don’t know, I wasn’t the one that installed the Linux and I don’t have contact with the guy who did. One more bit of information I type in root in the login area, then when I get to the password area the cursor doesn’t move when I type, I am not sure what this all means, I am new to the Linux world and I was thinking of reinstalling but I am a little hesitant because I don’t want to ruin the computer and or lose drivers. I was wondering if you guys thought reinstalling was a good idea or if you think it may be to difficult for me. Thanks for all your help either way

ummm if you have a shaddow password file, re-install eaiser way. even if you don't have a shaddow password file, its still probably easier to re-install.

Either that or hunt him down and get da password
    Juu nin to iro

English doesn't borrow from other languages. It follows them down dark alleys, knocks them over, and goes through their pockets for loose grammar.

Comment

Most of the time you can recover (or change, for that matter) the root password if you have phisical access to the console (which you do have).
      It's quite easy
      -d

Comment

replacing the root password is ALWAYS possible if you have access to the computer.

Simply:

1) put in the linux CD and boot it
        2) boot up the recovery console.
        3) mount your linux system.
        4) open the /etc/passwd on the linux hard drive partition and find the line with root in it. remove the second field, eg

root:x:0:0::/root:/bin/bash

becomes

root::0:0::/root:/bin/bash

5) do the same for the /etc/shadow file on you linux system partition, eg.

root:$1$fkdjafkldfsaklfsdaj:3123:0:::::

becomes

root::3123:0:::::