PDA

View Full Version : Antialiasing



NocturnDragon
21st April 2002, 11:45
Let say a company is going to annunce a new video board after a long period of time.
What kind of Antialiasing method do you think they will use?

Nappe1
21st April 2002, 13:00
simply the BEST! ;)

Novdid
21st April 2002, 14:25
Good guess Nappe!!!:p

Ali
21st April 2002, 14:27
If you have huge gobs of bandwidth, why not use supersampling. Render everything at 1600X1200 or higher internaly, and downsample to monitors resolution when displaying.


Good stuff:
Easy to code for (drivers).
Doesnt wash out textures.

Bad stuff:
Doesnt fix any 'popping' of textures, like the 3dfx method did.


Ali

Joel
21st April 2002, 18:29
And the new Matrox card is rumored to have 19GB/s bandwidth.

Joel

impact
22nd April 2002, 01:39
And what about headcasting?

NocturnDragon
22nd April 2002, 01:50
But let say that i want to play 1600x1200 with.. i don't know.. 4x or even 8x supersampling full screen AA. What resolution would the card render the scene internaly at?

Nappe1
22nd April 2002, 02:13
Ali: with Multi Sampling you get better quality... ;)

Nappe1
22nd April 2002, 02:29
Originally posted by nocturn_dragon
But let say that i want to play 1600x1200 with.. i don't know.. 4x or even 8x supersampling full screen AA. What resolution would the card render the scene internaly at?
for 2x:
2 x 1600 = 3700
2 x 1200 = 2400

for 4x:
4 x 1600 = 7400
4 x 1200 = 4800

for 8x:
8 x 1600 = 14800
8 x 1200 = 9600

and for the 8x:
back buffer needs fill rate when running 60 fps:
14800 x 9600 x 60 = 8130Mpixels/s
this fill rate needs memory bandwidth to back buffer: (32bpp & 32Bit Z, overdraw factor about 2.5)
((8130000000 pixels/s x 4 bytes per pixel for color) x 2 another 4 bytes per pixel for Z value) x2.5 overdraw factor = 158 GigaBytes/s :p :rolleyes: :D


and besides, as I said, good Multisampling always beats SuperSampling. ;)

Novdid
22nd April 2002, 02:58
I think you got your numbers wrong Nappe.

2 * 1600 = 3200

4 * 1600 = 6400

8 * 1600 = 12800

And something else. If you run your res at 1600x1200 and enable 4x SSAA your card will be scaling down an image from 3200x2400 and not from 6400x4800 (that would be known as 16x). Get the point??? :)

Evildead666
22nd April 2002, 03:41
Thats true, if you double the vertical and horizontal resolutions, then you get a screen which has 4 'tiles' of the previous resolution.
2(double vertical)x2(double Horiz) = 4(complete screens @ original res)

good one there novdid, i didn't look so close...
:up: :bunny:

PeTe
22nd April 2002, 04:15
Originally posted by Nappe1

for 2x:
2 x 1600 = 3700
for 4x:
4 x 1600 = 7400
for 8x:
8 x 1600 = 14800


Oh my god, i can see that the finnish school system has gone down the crapper. Next time just use a calculator.

But i can understand that those 2x16, 4x16 and 8x16 numbers are really hard to calc.. you never need those numbers when talking about pc-hardware... :D

PeTe

TdB
22nd April 2002, 04:20
perhaps nappe1 wrote that on purpose, maybe he was thinking of some new and fancy fsaa. :p

boorce
22nd April 2002, 05:06
I don't think we need Antialisasing at 1600*1280... You don't even see the pixel ! (ok, if you have a 32 inch monitor, you will be able to see it !)

Nappe1
22nd April 2002, 05:17
Originally posted by Novdid
I think you got your numbers wrong Nappe.

2 * 1600 = 3200

4 * 1600 = 6400

8 * 1600 = 12800

And something else. If you run your res at 1600x1200 and enable 4x SSAA your card will be scaling down an image from 3200x2400 and not from 6400x4800 (that would be known as 16x). Get the point??? :)

ROTFL!
well, what I should learn about this?
rule number one: Never reply to MURC while eating breakfast, especially if you are calculating something. :)
Rule number two: Never use previous results to next calculation. :)
Rule Number Three: double check everything before submitting. :)

Rule Number Four: check a wake status. if you aren't sure, don't post anything.

wil I learn anything about this? propably nothing. :D I forgot those rules soon anyway... ;)

so hopefully I wake up totally next time before I start replying here. :)

Novdid: You are absolutely right in there. my whole post is totally f*cked up. :D So no more too early postings for me. :)

Greebe
22nd April 2002, 06:09
hehe Nappe1 you forgot 5. check for pulse :p

Dr Mordrid
22nd April 2002, 06:11
Ok...so eating breakfast is your mental handicap.

WTF do I do about this 4 year old who's wrapped around my leg & pulling on the kbd and mouse cords? :confused:

Dr. Mordrid

Nappe1
22nd April 2002, 06:11
Originally posted by Greebe
hehe Nappe1 you forgot 5. check for pulse :p

you see?? I am forgotting them before i have even got them written up... :D

DirtFarmer
22nd April 2002, 06:29
Originally posted by Dr Mordrid
Ok...so eating breakfast is your mental handicap.

WTF do I do about this 4 year old who's wrapped around my leg & pulling on the kbd and mouse cords? :confused:

Dr. Mordrid

Get a cordless keyboard and mouse:p

NocturnDragon
22nd April 2002, 07:33
Thank you for the answers. I just wasn't sure if 2x was twice the heigh or the width or if it was twice the area.

Hey Nappe1 what do you think is the best metod of FFAA? you hinted Multisampling is better... But what level of Multisampling do you think is the best?

Nappe1
22nd April 2002, 08:12
like the matrox does it. ;)

Wombat
22nd April 2002, 08:21
WTF do I do about this 4 year old who's wrapped around my leg & pulling on the kbd and mouse cords? Just put it back in the cage where it belongs.

NocturnDragon
22nd April 2002, 08:34
Originally posted by Nappe1
like the matrox does it. ;)

You are not telling too much. Are you? :p

Indiana
22nd April 2002, 13:03
Hmm, the Radeons supersampling AA is IMO quite a bit better quality-wise than the GFs Multisampling AA - of course it takes a major performance-hit, but you can keep sharp/detailed textures.

Nappe1
22nd April 2002, 13:46
Indiana: how about Multisample AA without texture shimmering? ;)

Dr Mordrid
22nd April 2002, 13:59
Originally posted by DirtFarmer


Get a cordless keyboard and mouse:p

Yeah, right. So what do I do about the freakin' LEG ??

Try typing while the kid's making like a mixmaster attached to your knee......

Dr. Mordrid

Wombat
22nd April 2002, 14:29
One of the many reasons my solution is better. Besides, at 4 years-old, that's plenty enough that it should be cleaning its own cage. That makes life much easier on you.

Also, are tazers legal in your state?

DirtFarmer
22nd April 2002, 16:25
OK, a big cage with enough room for the tots very own computer, keyboard, mouse and someone elses leg:confused:

Dr Mordrid
22nd April 2002, 16:27
Nope, tazers aren't legal in Michigan.

BUT.....we do have a concealed-carry law that allows you to pack a .50 Desert Eagle to the supermarket if you want to.

Just a slight contradiction.....

Besides....a cattle prod carries more voltage :eek:

Dr. Mordrid

DirtFarmer
22nd April 2002, 16:31
Originally posted by Dr Mordrid

Try typing while the kid's making like a mixmaster attached to your knee......

Sounds like some HI-Quality family time to me. ;) Not usually available in the cage.

Greebe
22nd April 2002, 21:11
Some eons ago a friend was messin around with a stungun, teasing me by firing it up and getting it close to me... walked into the kitchen for some beer refils and heard a clack clack snap sound of electrical discharge then a thud on the floor...

appearently the soles of his shoes weren't dialectric enough and laid him out cold... Can you say LimpBizcut :p

after his teasing me with (and my warnings), beer blew out my nose in laughter :D

Evildead666
23rd April 2002, 03:59
I have an electric shock machine my great grandpa made to amuse his children....

When u hold both electrodes, your whole body contracts, and you are left in the foetal position on the floor.

There are lower settings, but it is much more fun to hold one electrode each and play with spanners. The one who hits the hardest, sends the shock to the other ;)

A simple solenoid with an iron core on a car battery.
Sooooo much fun!

knirfie
23rd April 2002, 04:02
You french people are crazy!:ermm:

Evildead666
23rd April 2002, 05:18
I'm english...just live and work here.:bunny:

And have fun!!!!!!!!!!!!! ZZZZZzzzzzzzt!! Har har;)

impact
23rd April 2002, 05:25
lol... have you had your frog today?

Evildead666
23rd April 2002, 05:45
No, (ribbet ribbet) but i think snails are nice.
Just like old chewing gum in garlic butter....:D

frankymail
23rd April 2002, 06:07
You want challenge? Try this; there was a competition at my high school a -few- years ago: one of the ITT teacher desgined an electrocution machine: you had to stand still and touch an electrode with both hands; then he'd apply DC to the electrode, starting at 10 Volts and gradually raise the voltage (1 volt / sec); the challenge was to be the one who kept his hands the longest on the electrode; I finished 2nd (@ 58 volts) and I was beaten by some little weakling (litteraly: the guy probably had trouble lifting his hands from the electrode :D ). If anyone wanna try, at 58-60 volts, it feels like peeing on an electric fence.... :bunny:

knirfie
23rd April 2002, 06:13
believe me, 58-60 volts feels nothing like peeing on an electric fence, that's a whole other level of pain-experience. :nervous:

Evildead666
23rd April 2002, 06:19
So, you both admit to having urinated on an electric fence...?

Do any of u have children?;)
Last time i saw an electric fence, it was sparking so bad i decided not to even approach it...damn, must burn!:bunny: (ooh, ahh!)

TdB
23rd April 2002, 06:31
wow! talk about off-topic. :p


EDIT: wow this is my number 300 post. :D

NetSnake
23rd April 2002, 06:34
Originally posted by frankymail
If anyone wanna try, at 58-60 volts, it feels like peeing on an electric fence.... :bunny:
Anything over 55 Volts is considered DANGEROUS.
Physiology class is proven useful after all:)

Marshmallowman
23rd April 2002, 07:21
to easy....

if you body is dehydrated, your conductivity is a lot less than when you have your fluid levels up. dry hands also make it a lot easier.

so if your thirsty after a hard night out, you will conduct a lot less current :p

Marshmallowman
23rd April 2002, 07:27
yeah, around 50 volts and up can quite easily kill someone if the current is high enough.:eek: