Upgrade time...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrade time...

I was wondering if I should upgrade my current system. I had replaced the video card and sound card recently (with a Radeon 7500 and a Santa Cruz). They probably won't be upgraded for a while, unless Parhelia appears sometime soon I currently have a Slot1 P3-750 on an Abit BE6-II mobo. Originally, I was planning to upgrade to a dual Athlon MP system, but decided against it since I don't have a lot to devote to this, and I have no experience with SMP systems and very little with AMD systems. I figured I might as well wait for AMD to release the Sledgehammer if I can't spend too much time on this now.

So my question is, would it be worth it to get a new CPU, such as a faster P3, along with a S370 to Slot1 adapter in the meantime? Such an upgrade would go pretty smoothly and I could manage it in less than a day. I have the 1.1 revision (I think) of the BE6-II, which according to Abit doesn't support the Tualitin, so I'm not sure if this is really a good idea.

Here's my current system if anyone is interested:

Intel P3-750, Abit BE6-II, Crucial 7E PC133 384MB (128MBx3), Quantum Fireball KA Plus 18.2GB, IBM 60GXP 20GB, Promise Ultra66, Pioneer DVD-105S, Plextor Plexwriter 8/4/32, Linksys LNE100TX NIC, ATI Radeon 7500, Turtle Beach Santa Cruz, Sony 19" 400PS, Addtronics 7890A w/ PC Power & Cooling 450W Turbo-Cool PS
    Last edited by Liquid Snake; 14 April 2002, 20:03.

What OS are you running? You may benefit yourself most by just getting a bit more RAM and putting the rest off. That MB may not make it much longer, so save your pennies for a full system change.

Myself, I'm waiting for the Thorobreds(sp?) to hit so that the prices of everything drop. Then I'll probably get a new CPU.
    Gigabyte P35-DS3L with a Q6600, 2GB Kingston HyperX (after *3* bad pairs of Crucial Ballistix 1066), Galaxy 8800GT 512MB, SB X-Fi, some drives, and a Dell 2005fpw. Running WinXP.

Comment