Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some formatting questions

Hi mates

First of all, finaly I made the purchase yesterday, within a few days I'll gonna have: Soyo dragon+, XP1800+, 512MB, 40GB, ATI AIW 7500, Audio 5.1, 1394, LG x32x12x8.

All this after I was struggling with my old K6-II Laptop.

My questions, since I have no experience with NT/W2K, are regarding NTFS.

1. Is there any problem transferring files from NTFS to FAT32 and back?

2. I heard that in case of failure in the system the computer will not recognize NTFS drive. is it true? what are the solutions?

3. My HDD is currently divided into 3 partitions (by FDISK) 30/5/5. Is possiable to install W2k on one 5GB partition and W98SE on the other 5GB partition and having the 30GB partition NTFS formated (for video editing)?

Is there any special recommendation for how should I do it?

Thanks for the help
    Last edited by bill2; 21 March 2002, 06:55.
    SOYO DRAGON PLUS
    AthlonXP 1800+
    512 megs DDR 2100
    Windows XP Pro.
    IBM 40.1 GB
    ATI AIW RADEON 7500
    ONBOARD SOUND 5.1 Ch.
    Panasonic NV-DS15 (DV in/out)
    Ulead MSP 6.0

NTFS to Fat32 and back

Hi Bill2,

"1. Is there any problem transferring files from NTFS to FAT32 and back? "

W98/se standard will not see a NTFS partition. W2K will see a FAT32 partition with no problem. So if the file resides on an NTFS partition (Under W2K for example, as the running OS) and you want to transfer it to a FAT32 partition you will be able to do it with no problem. The FAT32 -> NTFS is no problem either.

If your active OS is W98 and the file is on an NTFS partition you will not see the file. So w98 will only be able to transfer files located on FAT32 partitions.

One exception to the W98 case is if you install a driver from www.sysinternals.com (NTFS for W98). Using this driver (free for read-only, not free for full operation) you will be able to see NTFS partitions in W98.