PDA

View Full Version : What asdl router



breezer
2nd March 2002, 14:15
Pipex have confirmed that my line is ok for asdl so my order is going ahead.
I'm not keen on the frog connection option, usb is not for me so I've decided to get a router.

I think I'm going to get an asus aam6000ev or a dlink dsl-500, this will connect into my dlink switch (des-1005d) and then to the home network.

Any one know of any other good routers in the 150 bracket.

Ta,

Breezer

BarryS
2nd March 2002, 15:37
Hi Breezer,

I know that you don't want to use USB, but here's what I'm using:

Standard ADSL via Nildram and therefore using the Alcatel frog. However, I've also got a Draytek Vigor 2200USB router (w/firewall) in to which the frog is plugged This allows me to have internet access to all the PCs via the home network. No problems at all.

Check out http://www.adslguide.org.uk for loads of info and some forums for discussing the various suppliers.

Barry

breezer
3rd March 2002, 14:24
Thanks barry I looked at that option on the site you mentioned but I still think I'll get an ethernet only option, this will allow me to try various servers in between my pcs and the network, to check out their firewalls and web/transparent proxy configurations.


Thanks for your help


Breezer