MSP6 - is it to much for a novice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MSP6 - is it to much for a novice?

I am just a novice at video editing and have been playing around with small captures w analog - Video studio 4, MGI 4, I enjoy it very much. I have recently purchased a 900Tbird system on ebay of which UPS trashed in transit (still waiting for insurance $ since Oct. 5 Th). I also bought a D8 sony 1/2-yr. ago so my plan is to install a firewire card in this new system. I am eyeing the ADS pyro dv bundled with MSP6, which seems like a great deal at $188.00 us. Am I getting over my head with MSP6? I read so many good things about it on this forum. I am planing to capture through the ADS dv card, edit in MSP6, and then back to the Sony via firewire where I will be able to store it on Hi8 tape (economic storage) or let the Sony convert it to analog so I can go out to vhs. How does my plan sound so far? Also can the MSP6 capture dv format, render scenes in dv, and output to dv so as to maintain the best quality possible. On the low end of the spectrum is the Dazzle DV editor which comes complete with the 3 port card, Ulead 4, and a firewire to ilink cable all for about $60.00us. This card comes with a lucent chip, which I think is a pretty decent chipset.

So far the majority of my knowledge on video editing has resulted from reading this forum, a plethora of information has amassed here over the years. Thank you

lenl

You can download a trial version of MSP6 from the Ulead website. I tried it out and its pretty nice if you plan on being fairly serious with your work, like wedding vids, corporate vids, etc.