75GXP Class Action Suit Filed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 75GXP Class Action Suit Filed

With all the worries about the IBM 75GXP drives, I thought some of you might be interested in this:

Don't know if this has been posted yet, but if there are any lawyers here, can you tell us how we join a class action and get our part of the settlement?

The only people that will see any money off of this is the lawyers. The best you can expect is a rebate on future IBM products. See the Iomega case for examples.
    Gigabyte P35-DS3L with a Q6600, 2GB Kingston HyperX (after *3* bad pairs of Crucial Ballistix 1066), Galaxy 8800GT 512MB, SB X-Fi, some drives, and a Dell 2005fpw. Running WinXP.

Comment

Sorry I'm not a lawyer - wife is though.
      As a start I'd call/fax the lawyers in that pdf and ask about being included etc

Dan
      Juu nin to iro

English doesn't borrow from other languages. It follows them down dark alleys, knocks them over, and goes through their pockets for loose grammar.

Comment

I was thinking about just requesting that IBM replace the drive with a new 120GXP. Anybody have any experience with the new 120GXP drives? Do they click and clack too? Any problems otherwise?

Comment

No suprise here. Fortunately my early versions have held together, but the newer drives certainly seem to be fragile.

Perhaps it's time to trade up to some of those Maxtor/Quantum 740's?

Dr. Mordrid
          Dr. Mordrid
          ----------------------------
          An elephant is a mouse built to government specifications.

I carry a gun because I can't throw a rock 1,250 fps

Comment

I was thinking about just requesting that IBM replace the drive with a new 120GXP.
            That will never happen. Maybe you'll get a coupon for $25 off your purchase of a 120GXP.