Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

S-Video input comes out back & white. Damn!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• S-Video input comes out back & white. Damn!

Hi, well just a day after saying everyting's sweet in Matrox land, I got me a big problem Grrrr!

I can't get colour video through the S-Video input on my RRG - in PC-VCR and Quick Connect I see only greyscale. Aswell as lacking colour, the image shows a pattern of thin light/dark (interference?) lines, which look worse moving than in stills.

I took some screenshots, please take a look, they pretty much show the problem.

Signal through composite input is fine/normal. I've never used the SVideo input before, but now im doing editing I care about quality... Looking at the screenshots just reminded me of another thing - what is that mess at the bottom of the screen? the lowest few lines are a mess

Sooooo....
    I 'phoned Matrox Tech (why do they close at 2:30?), he said try a different cable but I don't have one, and anyway I know the cable is good 'cos I plugged it straight into a TV and colour was fine. I tried to explain this but the guy got abusive... so anyway I guess the cable must be OK. The other thing he said was "send the board back". This will be my 3rd RRG, I'm getting pissed off at the time and expense of posting these things to Ireland - good thing though is i've got a nice selection of cables building up 'cos they only accept return of bare boards BTW the friendly [sarcasm] tech guy didn't have any ideas for a software fix, he was pretty sure it's dead hardware I hope he's wrong!

P.S. I'm using a PAL VHS deck and a Camcorder as my source.
    P.P.S. Do Matrox test these things before sending them out?

- sorry to sound angry, it's just that 6 months after buying the first RRG I still haven't got one working right - I've never has this much trouble with 'poota stuff - this is getting silly!

You get whot you got when you give composite signals to S-Video input!