DOA Northwood? :(

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DOA Northwood? :(

Before I go through the hassle of getting an RMA, do any of you have any ideas?

I just bought a retail 2 GHz Northwood P4, retail Asus P4T-E, 512 MB Kingston RIMM (life-time warranty), and a PCPower and Cooling 400 watt silencer power supply. Everything else is from my old, reliable system. I have put togethter quite a few systems (the first one I built was a 486), so I have some experience. What's funny is this is the one that I took the most time with. In fact, I was proceeding at such a leisurely pace and so optimistic, I put the whole thing together, hoping to just flip it on and be on my way.

I plug in the power supply with the case open to make sure all the fans work and no funny business. It powers up for a couple seconds, then goes off. I figured this was something to do with the ATX switch or something, so no big deal. Push the power button on the front, system powers up - power light on, fans on and green light on motherboard is on...........and nothing. No beeps, no output to the monitor, etc. I proceed to strip the system down to a GeForce3 graphics card, keyboard, memory, and CPU. Still nothing. Try a PCI graphics card....still nothing. Try no graphics card (hey, I'm desperate), hoping for any beep. Nothing. Try no memory. Still nothing.

I took the CPU out and re-seated it. Nothing funny. Still no indication of life. I'm really out of ideas. Maybe I'm missing something obvious? Here's the obvious things I didn't over look:

1) power supply is set to 115v

2) ATX power cable is connected correctly to MB.

3) P4 12 V connector is attached correctly.

4) Power switch, power light, reset switch, ect. are connected correctly.

5) Rambus mem appears to be installed correctly, if I understand the manual correctly: 256 MB in RIMMA1 C-RIMM in RIMMA2, 256 MB in RIMMB1, C-RIMM in RIMMB2. All fit nice and snug.